Verification log
What changed on the desk.
The most recent human checks across the 142-publication database, newest first. A date here means an editor opened the publication’s own page and re-read it — pay, openness, guidelines, the AI policy. Nothing here is scraped; when a listing closes, it stays visible and says so in its own words.
Newest 36 checks
Re-verified, in order.
| Publication | Status | Pay | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chicken Soup for the Soul | published | {'currency': 'USD', 'amountMin': 250, 'amountMax': 250, 'display': '$250 if published', 'conditions': 'Official: they do not pay for submissions. If they publish the story in a book you are paid $250 one month after the book is published, plus ten free copies. You also get half-price cases of that book. A story is not paid unless it is selected and you sign their permission release.', 'timing': 'One month after publication of the book.'} | 2026-09-16 |
| LitMag Online | open | {'amountMin': 100, 'amountMax': 100, 'currency': 'USD', 'display': '$100 on acceptance', 'conditions': 'The official site states a $100 payment upon acceptance.', 'timing': 'Upon acceptance'} | 2026-09-16 |
| Orion Magazine | published | {'currency': 'USD', 'amountMin': 200, 'amountMax': 200, 'display': '$200 per poem', 'conditions': 'Official, for the 2026 poetry call: "We will pay $200 for accepted works." Orion does not publish a rate for its digital or print nonfiction on this page, so BRYME states none for those.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-16 |
| Efiko Magazine | published | {'currency': 'NGN', 'amountMin': 20000, 'amountMax': 30000, 'display': '₦20,000 or ₦30,000 (Nigerian bank account)', 'conditions': 'Official: for contributors with a Nigerian bank account, ₦30,000 for 2 or more poems and for prose over 2,500 published words. Accepted submissions below those lengths attract ₦20,000. Re-read on the guidelines page 2026-09-06.', 'timing': 'Processed upon publication.'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Adi Magazine | published | {'currency': None, 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Not publicly stated on the current official page', 'conditions': 'The 19 August 2026 official submissions page does not state an essay fee. Older third-party and staging pages have quoted other numbers. Those numbers are not copied here.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Listverse | published | {'currency': 'USD', 'amountMin': 100, 'amountMax': 100, 'display': '$100 (minus PayPal fees)', 'conditions': 'Official Author’s Guide, Appendix II: if they accept the list they send $100 USD minus PayPal fees within thirty days. You are not paid for submitting. Rejected lists stay yours. Accepted lists become Listverse property.', 'timing': 'Within 30 days of acceptance, via PayPal.'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Noema Magazine | published | {'currency': None, 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Not publicly stated on the official pages checked', 'conditions': 'Neither the official Pitch Us page nor the official pitch/writing guidelines state a per-word or per-piece fee. Third-party sites have quoted $1/word. That figure is not copied here. Official guidelines do state a 25% kill fee if they decide not to publish a piece written in a timely manner and in good faith.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| African Arguments | published | {'currency': None, 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Fees vary — not a published fixed rate', 'conditions': 'Official: limited budget. They prioritise funds to commission African journalists based in Africa, and can also offer a fee to many other writers. They are grateful to writers who can contribute voluntarily (permanent paid jobs, other funding, writing not their living). For paid articles, fees vary by kind of article and time/resources.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| McSweeney’s Internet Tendency | published | {'currency': None, 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Modest fee if accepted — dollar amount not published', 'conditions': 'Official: payment for accepted general, open letter and list submissions, funded by Patreon above Goal #2. They say the payment is modest and may disappoint. New Food Reviews are unpaid. Do not invent $40 or any other number from old contest pages.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| New Lines Magazine | published | {'currency': None, 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Not publicly stated on the official pitch page', 'conditions': 'The official Submissions page does not publish a fee. Third-party lists have quoted $800. That figure is not copied here.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Uncanny Magazine | published | {'currency': 'USD', 'amountMin': 40, 'amountMax': 40, 'display': '$40 per poem', 'conditions': 'Official: “Payment is $40 per poem.” Re-confirmed on the submissions page 2026-09-06.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Griffith Review | published | {'currency': 'AUD', 'amountMin': 200, 'amountMax': 500, 'display': 'AUD$0.75/word print · AUD$200 poetry · AUD$500 online', 'conditions': 'Official rate card, re-read 2026-09-06: fiction and non-fiction commissioned for the print edition is paid at AUD$0.75 per word; poetry at AUD$200 per poem; online pieces at a flat AUD$500. All online content sits in front of the paywall.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated on the For Writers page'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The Tyee | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': 300, 'amountMax': 900, 'display': '$300 a day (usually 1–3 days)', 'conditions': 'Official: $300 day rate. Assignment length is agreed as a one-day, two-day or three-day story. Stories above three days are less common. The page does not label CAD or USD; The Tyee is a Canadian magazine. Currency is recorded here as CAD. Do not convert.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The Markaz Review | published | {'currency': None, 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Honorarium — amount not published', 'conditions': 'Official: The Markaz Review is a nonprofit and pays all contributors an honorarium within 30 days of publication. No figure is published, so BRYME states none. Re-read 2026-09-06.', 'timing': 'Within 30 days of publication'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Pellicle | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 375, 'amountMax': 675, 'display': '£375–£675 per commission', 'conditions': 'Official rate card, based on a rough working rate of £0.25 per word: Features (1,500–2,000 words) £375; Long Reads (2,500 words and over) £525; Photo Essays (2,000 words and over, plus photography) £675. Photography (30–40 stills) £250 and illustration £250 are paid separately. Pellicle commissions to a fixed fee agreed in writing at commissioning, not to a per-word count.', 'timing': 'Invoices paid in GBP after submission of the first draft; international invoices processed via Wise'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Extra Teeth | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 150, 'amountMax': 200, 'display': '£200 print / £150 Substack', 'conditions': 'Official: £200 for each piece selected for the magazine, plus two contributor copies. Four further pieces are selected for their Substack, With Bite, paid at £150 per piece. There are 16 spots per issue — 12 in print, 4 on Substack. Extra Teeth charges no submission fee.', 'timing': 'Bank transfer within 30 days of receipt of a signed publishing agreement'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Poetry Wales | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 150, 'amountMax': 150, 'display': '£150 per 3,000 words', 'conditions': 'Official payment rates: Articles £150/3,000 words, or in that proportion depending on the number of published words. Reviews are £67.50/1,500 words and poems are £20 each — those are listed separately on the same page. Payment is by PayPal only; if you cannot accept PayPal you forfeit the fee.', 'timing': 'On publication of the issue the work appears in'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Poetry Wales | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 20, 'amountMax': 20, 'display': '£20 per poem', 'conditions': 'Official payment rates: Poems £20 each. Contributors also receive one complimentary copy of their issue. Payment is by PayPal only; if you cannot accept PayPal you forfeit the fee.', 'timing': 'On publication of the issue the work appears in'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Poetry London | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 35, 'amountMax': 35, 'display': '£35 per poem', 'conditions': 'Official: £35 per poem, though appropriate adjustments may be made for very long poems. Review and interview fees are agreed in advance with the Reviews Editor and benchmarked at £50 per 1,000 words. Contributors also receive one complimentary copy.', 'timing': 'Within 30 days following publication of the print issue, on receipt of an invoice'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Shoreline of Infinity | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 20, 'amountMax': 20, 'display': '£20 per 1,000 words', 'conditions': 'Official: they offer £20/1000 words. A reprint fee is paid for republishing in collections. Rates are stated per thousand words, so a 6,000-word story at the maximum length is £120.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Propel Magazine | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 20, 'amountMax': 20, 'display': '£20 honorarium', 'conditions': 'Official, from their FAQ: "We offer an honorarium of £20 to each contributor."', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The Fiction Desk | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 25, 'amountMax': 25, 'display': '£25 per 1,000 words', 'conditions': "Official: The Fiction Desk and Uncertain Stories both pay £25 per thousand words — for example £100 for a 4,000 word story, or £150 for a 6,000 word story. Contributors also receive six printed copies. Published stories are eligible for the Writer's Award, a £100 cash prize for the best story in each volume, judged by the contributors. Note the £5 submission fee per story.", 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The Rialto | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 20, 'amountMax': 20, 'display': '£20 per poem', 'conditions': 'Official: "We currently pay £20 per poem on publication." Articles and reviews are commissioned rather than submitted, and no rate is stated for them.', 'timing': 'On publication'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Gutter | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 50, 'amountMax': 50, 'display': 'Flat £50 per piece', 'conditions': 'Official: "Successful contributors will be paid a flat fee of £50 for work published in the magazine, regardless of length or style." Published authors also receive a complimentary copy. Reviews and critical essays are separately described as paid opportunities, with no rate stated.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| fourteen poems | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': 30, 'amountMax': 30, 'display': '£30 per poem', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay £30 for each poem published." Submission is free. Solo pamphlets are a separate programme and are currently closed.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Granta | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Pays contributors — rate not stated', 'conditions': 'Granta does not publish a rate on its submissions page. BRYME does not guess: this record carries no figure rather than an invented one. Note the cost in the other direction — a £3.50 fee for full-length prose submissions, equivalent to printing and postage, claimable against a new subscription. During every opening period they offer 200 free submissions to authors on low incomes.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The London Magazine | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Pays for print — rate not stated', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay a fee for everything we publish in print. We are currently unable to pay for pieces published on the website." No figure is published, so BRYME states none. They charge a £3.50 fee for submissions made outside their free windows — they advise submitting near the start of the month, before the portal\'s free quota is used up.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Hinterland | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Pays for all published work — rate not stated', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay for all the work that we publish." No figure is given, so BRYME states none rather than guessing. Note the cost in the other direction — a £3 readers\' fee on all submissions, redeemable as a discount against a subscription. Subscribers submit free, all year round.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Mslexia | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Pays for every piece published — rate not stated', 'conditions': 'Official: "we pay for every piece we publish." Mslexia does not put a figure on the Showcase submissions page itself, so BRYME states none. Their competitions publish separate, specific prize amounts, but those are contests with entry fees, not submissions.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Modern Poetry in Translation | published | {'currency': 'GBP', 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': 'Pays a fee — amount not stated', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay a fee to our contributors." No figure is published, so BRYME states none. Note that responsibility for clearing rights and permissions for translated works — and paying any related fees — lies with the translator.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Briarpatch Magazine | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': 150, 'amountMax': 350, 'display': '$150–$350 per article', 'conditions': 'Official standard rates: $150 for profiles, short essays, reviews, reading lists, online-only articles and parting shots (generally 1,500 words or less); $250 for feature stories (generally 1,500–2,000 words) and photo essays; $350 for research-based articles and investigative reporting with extensive primary research (generally 2,000–2,500 words). Online-only stories pay $150. Illustration is paid separately: $100 spot, $150 feature, $300 cover.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| Broadview | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': None, 'amountMax': None, 'display': '40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay $.40 a word for opinion pieces and $.65 a word for reported ones." Digital and print pieces are both paid by the word. You are paid only for the words you were assigned, unless a revised length is agreed with your handling editor. The guidelines write the rate as $ without naming the currency; Broadview is a Canadian publication following Canadian Press style, so it is recorded here as CAD. Per repo convention a per-word rate carries no piece amount.', 'timing': 'Within 30 days of receipt of an invoice'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The Malahat Review | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': 70, 'amountMax': 70, 'display': 'CAD$70 per published page', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay CAD$70 per published page plus a one-year print subscription and two copies of the issue in which your work appears." Note a CAD$7 fee (approximately USD$5) per regular submission for international submitters, including from the US. Their four annual contests have separate guidelines and their own entry fees.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| The New Quarterly | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': 100, 'amountMax': 400, 'display': '$400 prose / $100 poetry', 'conditions': 'Official payment rates: "For Fiction and Nonfiction pieces, we pay $400. For Poetry and Postscripts, we pay $100 per piece." Contributors also get a complimentary copy of the issue their piece appears in and a contributor discount on TNQ subscriptions.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| PRISM international | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': 40, 'amountMax': 45, 'display': '$40 CAD/page prose, $45 CAD/page poetry', 'conditions': 'Official: "We purchase first North American serial rights and pay $40 CAD per printed page for prose and $45 CAD per printed page for poetry." Contributors also receive two copies. Translations: $45 CAD/page for poetry translation plus $30 CAD/page to the original author; $40 CAD/page for prose translation plus $25 CAD/page to the original author up to $200 CAD. Art: $300 CAD for a cover, $50 CAD per interior page up to $250 CAD. Third-party directories list $30/page — that is out of date; this is the figure on PRISM\'s own page.', 'timing': 'Not publicly stated'} | 2026-09-06 |
| EVENT | published | {'currency': 'CAD', 'amountMin': 35, 'amountMax': 40, 'display': '$40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)', 'conditions': 'Official: "We pay $40/page for poetry and book reviews, and $35/page for prose, up to a maximum of $500." All contributors receive 2 copies of the issue. Third-party directories list $25 or $30 per page — both are out of date; this is the figure on EVENT\'s own page.', 'timing': 'Issued upon publication'} | 2026-09-06 |