🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & tech
- Pay
- $2,500+ per feature
- Words
- ~5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong reporting required
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
World journalism, essays
- Pay
- $600–$800
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction — it publishes writers from around the globe, with Africa-focused editorial
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essay
- Pay
- $500
- Words
- No hard personal-essay limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: pitches and original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Longform nonfiction
- Pay
- $500 (personal/critical essays); reading lists $350
- Words
- Most features 2,000-6,000 words (guideline, not a rule)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, criticism, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $2,000 essays; $500–$1,000 stories; $150 poems; $25 Mentions
- Words
- Essays: 2–4 paragraph pitch; fiction: no word limit; Mentions: 150-word reviews
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Long-form essays, book review essays, interviews, analysis and occasional reporting
- Pay
- Around $500 for web pieces; modest honorarium for other writers
- Words
- Most essays run 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Environment journalism
- Pay
- $500 (short) · $750–$1,500 (long) · $500 (interview) · $400 (review)
- Words
- Dispatches 1,200-1,500; features 2,500-3,000 (print ~2,800 common)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reading list
- Pay
- $350
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Again column (book reflection)
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Travel feature, service, first person
- Pay
- From $300 for 500–600 words
- Words
- Rate example: 500–600 words. Other lengths exist; no single required range.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
First-person narrative nonfiction
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- 1,000-1,500 words ideal; 2,200 hard max
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $200+
- Words
- Most pieces under 7,000 words
- Eligible
- English-language writers from anywhere are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book review
- Pay
- $175
- Words
- Not publicly stated for reviews
- Eligible
- No country list on the current submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Black women writers
- Pay
- $150
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Original creative work by Black women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food & home
- Pay
- ~$150 per assignment
- Words
- ~600–1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary work of all forms
- Pay
- $120
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Online reported analysis
- Pay
- $100–$200 honorarium if writing is your primary income
- Words
- Typically 1,200–1,500 words online; longer considered case by case
- Eligible
- Official: academics, activists, students and journalists
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- Prefer under 3,000 words; up to 5,000
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation
- Pay
- $100 honorarium
- Words
- Fiction 2,000–7,000 words; flash not considered
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- under 3,000 words (up to 3,500)
- Eligible
- Open internationally to all voices and genres; literary excellence is the only criterion
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, translation
- Pay
- $100/poetry, $0.10/word up to $200 (prose)
- Words
- up to 6 poems or 30 pages of prose
- Eligible
- Open to submissions from any location; first North American serial rights purchased
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction, personal essays, poetry, book reviews and cover photography
- Pay
- $300 per short story or essay, $100 per poet, $100 for cover photography
- Words
- Stories and essays of 15-25 manuscript pages, one piece at a time; poetry up to 7 poems and 20 pages, with single long poems up to 10 pages
- Eligible
- Official page: "Authors do NOT need to be residents of Colorado or the United States
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Flash fiction and flash creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $100 per story, or $150 with audio rights
- Words
- Up to 1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction short story (some borderline fantasy/slipstream)
- Pay
- 8–10¢ per word (8¢ after 7,500 words)
- Words
- Seldom under 1,000 or over 20,000; no novel serials
- Eligible
- Official: Asimov’s will consider material submitted by any writer, previously published or not
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $300 per short story, $75 per accepted poem, plus two contributor copies
- Words
- No designated page limit, though most stories published run under 25 double-spaced pages; the page asks for one submission per reading period
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and translation
- Pay
- $50 per page in print; $75 poetry / $100 prose online exclusives
- Words
- Up to 7,000 words; longer work cannot be read
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, flash and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $50 per published piece, regardless of length
- Words
- Poetry or micro essays: up to 3 pieces, micro meaning 300 words or fewer. Flash: up to 2 pieces of 500 words or fewer. Fiction or creative nonfiction: up to 7,500 words in a single document.
- Eligible
- Official page: "Anyone can submit to Booth except for Butler employees, current Butler students, or anyone with affiliations to Butler's MFA program
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, interviews, cultural criticism, poetry and fiction
- Pay
- $100 per review or essay, $50 per interview, $50 per newspaper publication of a poem or short story
- Words
- Fiction in the Letras y Disparates section: 1,500-word limit. Poems in that section: up to three sent. No limit stated for reviews or essays.
- Eligible
- Official page: the review prioritises "radical writers from Texas, especially those from the central Texas area", and states no country restriction on submitting
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short stories
- Pay
- $40-$60 per story, depending on length and rights available
- Words
- Stories of 5,000 to 10,000 words with work as a central theme; novels about the workplace by query first.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Creative nonfiction, essays, translation
- Pay
- $25–$100 (by department & length)
- Words
- Essays to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, memoir, poetry, art
- Pay
- $25–$75
- Words
- Flash and short forms
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama
- Pay
- $25/page prose, $30/page poetry
- Words
- Prose up to ~20 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and visual art
- Pay
- $25 per poem, essay, short story or artwork published
- Words
- Fiction and nonfiction no more than 6,000 words; poetry no more than three poems per packet
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, author interviews, features and essays
- Pay
- $25 for reviews and interviews, $75 for features
- Words
- Reviews run about 600-800 words; length for features and essays is settled at commissioning
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, interviews and omnibus reviews
- Pay
- $25 per printed page for regular submissions; $100 per story or essay for BLAST online exclusives
- Words
- No length restrictions stated for fiction and nonfiction, though the editors suggest reading back issues; poetry features run 6-14 pages of poems from each of three poets per issue; interviews and omnibus reviews cover 3-6 recently published books
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated, and submissions by post are accepted
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction
- Pay
- $25 per accepted story, plus a complimentary copy of the issue
- Words
- No word limit stated; the review publishes one annual issue of short fiction
- Eligible
- Official page: "We invite submissions of previously unpublished short stories from around the country and the world year-round
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, CNF, poetry, art
- Pay
- $20 per contributor
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the official submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry
- Pay
- 8¢/word fiction, $20 poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $20 for each piece accepted into a general issue
- Words
- One piece under 4,000 words, or up to four flash pieces under 1,000 words each
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, prose, flash and visual art
- Pay
- $20 honorarium per published piece
- Words
- Prose up to 5,000 words; flash under 1,000 words, up to three pieces; poetry up to three poems. No novel excerpts unless they stand alone.
- Eligible
- Official page: honorariums to an international address are paid by wire transfer, and the page sets out no country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction and poetry
- Pay
- $20 per poem and per page of prose, $300 maximum
- Words
- Fiction up to 5,000 words; poetry up to seven pages, no more than one poem per page.
- Eligible
- No country restriction is stated; the journal notes that writers living overseas may email if they cannot use the online submission manager
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, essays
- Pay
- $15
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry and prose
- Pay
- $10/page prose, $20/page poetry (max $150)
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Prose $10 per printed page capped at $150; poetry $50 per poem
- Words
- One piece of fiction or nonfiction up to 5,000 words; maximum four poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submission guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.01/word prose, $5 poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Submissions accepted in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French or Italian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, poetry, essays, translation and graphic fiction
- Pay
- ₹10,000 (about $104)≈ $1.10 USD
- Words
- 2,000-5,000 words; or five poems
- Eligible
- Open worldwide - the page states no nationality restriction, and English-language translations from other languages are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature
- Pay
- From 50 cents per word
- Words
- No hard limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States
Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
- Eligible
- The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Explainer / reported essay
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Most stories 1,500–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Climate explainer / reported story
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Assignments 800–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Reported tech feature
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch 300 words or less. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Satire / humour (lists, open letters, monologues)
- Pay
- Modest fee if accepted — dollar amount not published
- Words
- Absolute maximum 1,200 words; they prefer under 1,000, shorter still better
- Eligible
- No country list on the official guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary essay, criticism, reported literary piece
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch: 2–3 paragraphs; finished essay length not stated
- Eligible
- No country list on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reportage, arguments, history essays, first person, reviews
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- Official page: submissions on virtually any topic from anywhere in the world if the story is compelling, well written and accurate
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction or fantasy short story
- Pay
- 14¢ per word
- Words
- 1,000–22,000 words, no exceptions
- Eligible
- Official: stories from all over the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
SF/F non-fiction article
- Pay
- 10¢ per word, up to 2,500 words
- Words
- Up to 2,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list on the official non-fiction guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported or argued piece on the Americas
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official contact page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature, essay, op-ed, review
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Not publicly stated. They run reported features, book reviews, photo essays, op-eds and about a dozen long-form narratives a year.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction story
- Pay
- 8–10¢ per word for short fiction
- Words
- Short fiction up to about 20,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: Analog will consider material submitted by any writer solely on the basis of merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fact article
- Pay
- 9¢ per word
- Words
- About 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: any writer, solely on merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary adventure fantasy short story
- Pay
- 8¢ per word
- Words
- Strongly prefer under 15,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: submissions from all writers, of all locations, nationalities, ethnicities, backgrounds, faiths, genders, orientations, identities and experiences
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Writing craft
- Pay
- ~$0.30–$0.50/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong craft knowledge expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food culture
- Pay
- Pays per assigned piece
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & essays
- Pay
- Up to ~$1/word
- Words
- 800–1,400 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; content is aimed at a 50+ US audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Career & money
- Pay
- ~$0.40/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays & analysis
- Pay
- Pays per assignment
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Tech & world
- Pay
- $1/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Open to writers in non-Western countries; pitches from regional writers welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short prose
- Pay
- Pays per accepted piece
- Words
- Short prose
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Sci-fi, fantasy, horror
- Pay
- $0.10/word
- Words
- Up to 3,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, criticism
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Centers Africa and the African diaspora; strongly relevant to African and diaspora writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported stories, essays and reviews
- Pay
- $1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
- Words
- Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Stories of exactly 100 words
- Pay
- Payment not stated on the submit page; $2 submission fee applies
- Words
- Exactly 100 words (title not counted)
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
International affairs analysis
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- Not stated on the guidelines page; $3 submission fee applies
- Words
- Up to 8,000 words; no more than five poems at a time
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Prose and poetry
- Pay
- Paid in two copies — the journal states it cannot pay money
- Words
- Prose under 7,000 words (about 24 double-spaced pages); poetry five pages or less
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, reviews and artwork
- Pay
- Unpaid — the journal states it cannot offer monetary payment
- Words
- Generally not over 8,000 words; reviews no more than 1,200 words
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary short fiction
- Pay
- $500 plus 25 contributor copies
- Words
- 3,000–8,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States
True first-person story or story-poem
- Pay
- $250 if published
- Words
- Recommended maximum 1,200 words; no official minimum. Longer pieces are rarely read.
- Eligible
- Official FAQ: they publish English-language stories from people around the world
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry/interviews
- Words
- Not a single sitewide limit on the About page. El Alboroto (Spanish section) states a 2,500-word maximum — that is a different card.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Nonfiction pitches and poetry
- Pay
- $200 per poem
- Words
- Poems max 2 pages · digital pieces unlikely over 2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal narrative essay
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- 2,000–6,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Comedy lists
- Pay
- $100–150 (first 4) → $200–250 (5th+); $100 top-10 bonus
- Words
- 6–8 entries per list
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, non-fiction and poetry about place
- Pay
- Honorarium, $100 minimum
- Words
- Up to 30 pages
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word (minimum $60)
- Words
- Up to 10,000 words; under 5,000 preferred
- Eligible
- Official: submissions from anywhere in the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Flash creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $45 honorarium if featured
- Words
- 750 words or fewer
- Eligible
- Official: they have published writers from India, Egypt, the Netherlands, Ireland, Spain, Malaysia, Qatar and Japan, and many previously unpublished authors
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative poetry
- Pay
- $40 per poem
- Words
- Any length
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry, essays
- Pay
- $0.08/word fiction, $40 poem, $75 essay
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Humour / satire
- Pay
- $25–$100 on publication
- Words
- No more than 8 pages
- Eligible
- No country list on the official guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essay
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the current official page
- Words
- Not publicly stated on the current official page
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Personal essay (First Person)
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the current official pitch page
- Words
- Not stated for First Person on the current official pitch page
- Eligible
- Not applicable until First Person is listed again on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative short fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word (including audio rights)
- Words
- 750–10,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: passionate, diverse SF/F from writers from every conceivable background
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.08/word prose, $0.16/word poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, essays
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, prose, comics, art, nonfiction and hybrid work
- Pay
- Payment stated, amount not published
- Words
- Prose up to 6,000 words, with nonfiction limited to 4,000 words; poetry, comics, art and hybrid work also read
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10