BRYME
SEPTEMBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing — free, independent, human-verified.

🇨🇦 Canada

Writing opportunities in Canada

17 publications are based in Canada, and 88 in total confirm in their own guidelines that they are open to writers from here. A further 42 do not state an eligibility rule either way.

Pay below is shown exactly as each publication states it. For scale, US$100 is about CA$138 at the mid-market rate of 2026-09-05. BRYME never converts a stated rate — it only shows an approximation.

A listing is an invitation to pitch, never a promise of acceptance or payment. Every entry links to the publication’s own guideline and the date BRYME last checked it.

77 open to writers anywhereHow to pitch Canadian editorsPick another country

Based here

17 publications based in Canada

🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Walrus

Essay or reported feature

Pay
From $500 (short essays); features up to $1/word≈ $362 USD
Words
Essays 1,000–4,000; reported features ~1,200–2,000; long-form 2,500–5,000
Eligible
The official page does not restrict essays and features by nationality
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Tyee

Reported news, features, analysis, first person

Pay
$300 a day (usually 1–3 days)≈ $217–$651 USD
Words
Not publicly stated. Fee is a day rate, not a word rate.
Eligible
No nationality list
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Geist

Non-fiction, fiction, poetry and comics

Pay
Up to $650; $100/page poetry≈ $72–$470 USD
Words
Notes & Dispatches under 2,000 words; Features up to 5,000
Eligible
Official: their priority is work from emerging and established writers and artists who are Canadian or permanent residents of Canada, or whose work has a strong connection to Canada or would be relevant to a Canadian audience
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Malahat Review

Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction

Pay
CAD$70 per published page≈ $51 USD
Words
Paid per published page
Eligible
Open internationally
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Ex-Puritan

Fiction, essays, poetry

Pay
CAD$50–$150≈ $36–$108 USD
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction, but writers must be able to accept e-transfer, PayPal or Canadian cheque
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

PRISM international

Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation

Pay
$40 CAD/page prose, $45 CAD/page poetry≈ $29–$33 USD
Words
Preferred length 4,000 words or less
Eligible
Open internationally — their mandate is to publish "the best in contemporary writing and translation from Canada and around the world
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Prairie Fire

Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction

Pay
10¢ per word prose (max $250), $40 per poem≈ $29–$181 USD
Words
Maximum 5 poems per submission
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Pulp Literature Magazine

Short fiction, poetry, art

Pay
$0.05-$0.08/word (short stories)≈ $14–$579 USD
Words
short stories to 5,000 words
Eligible
Open to writers; pay rates published on the official guidelines page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

FreeFall Magazine

Prose, poetry, interviews and reviews

Pay
$10/page prose (max $100), $25/poem, $50 reviews≈ $7.23–$36 USD
Words
Prose to 4,000 words; poems max 6 pages each
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Broadview

Opinion and reported features

Pay
40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
Words
Assigned per commission
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada

Briarpatch Magazine

Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations

Pay
$150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
Words
700–2,500 words depending on section
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

The New Quarterly

Fiction, poetry and non-fiction

Pay
$400 prose / $100 poetry≈ $72–$289 USD
Words
One piece per submission period
Eligible
Official and strict: The New Quarterly publishes fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction exclusively by Canadian writers
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada

Augur Magazine

Speculative fiction and poetry

Pay
CAD $0.14/word fiction, $112 flash, $100 per poem≈ $72–$81 USD
Words
Fiction to 5,000 words; up to 5 poems / 10 pages
Eligible
Open internationally
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

EVENT

Fiction, poetry and reviews

Pay
$40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)≈ $25–$29 USD
Words
Up to six poems, or one short story to 5,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated for general submissions, though some categories carry their own eligibility requirements on Submittable — the August 2026 fiction and poetry calls were flagged as Canadian
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyCanada

The /tEmz/ Review

Fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry

Pay
$20 per piece≈ $14 USD
Words
Prose up to 10,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

khōréō

Speculative short fiction or flash

Pay
10¢ per word
Words
Under 5,000 words (prefer under 3,500)
Eligible
Official: submit if you identify as an immigrant or member of a diaspora in the broadest definitions — including first- and second-generation immigrants, refugees, people displaced by colonialism/imperialism, and anyone whose heritage includes ‘here and elsewhere’
Verified
2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

carte blanche

Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation

Pay
Modest honorarium — amount not stated
Words
See the guidelines for each genre
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09

House style when you write for Canada

Getting these wrong will not sink a good idea, but they are the fastest way for an editor to tell you have not read them.

SpellingA genuine hybrid: British vowels, American endings. colour and organize in the same sentence is correct here
DatesBoth orders are in use, which makes numeric dates genuinely ambiguous — spell the month out
CV or résuméBoth CV and résumé are used; never with a photo
QuotationUS-style: punctuation inside the quotation marks

Canadian literary magazines publish their rates more openly than any other market BRYME has researched, largely because of arts-council funding norms. The authority is the Canadian Oxford Dictionary and Canadian Press style.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest