THE BRYME WRITERS
OCTOBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing — free, independent, human-verified.

Updated 2026-10-22

Today’s opportunities.

What changed, what is closing, and what pays most — recomputed from the record every time BRYME rebuilds. Every figure below is the publication’s own; nothing here is estimated.

304 tracked233 accepting now0 verified this week5 closing within 90 days

Freshly verified

Checked in the last seven days

Nothing was re-checked in the last seven days.

Closing soon

Closing within 90 days

Dated windows that are still open. Past deadlines are excluded — they have closed, not 'closing soon'.

🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyCanada

The /tEmz/ Review

Fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry

Pay
$20 per piece≈ $14 USD
Words
Prose up to 10,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Chicken Soup for the Soul

True first-person story or story-poem

Pay
$250 if published
Words
Recommended maximum 1,200 words; no official minimum. Longer pieces are rarely read.
Eligible
Official FAQ: they publish English-language stories from people around the world
Verified
2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

khōréō

Speculative short fiction or flash

Pay
10¢ per word
Words
Under 5,000 words (prefer under 3,500)
Eligible
Official: submit if you identify as an immigrant or member of a diaspora in the broadest definitions — including first- and second-generation immigrants, refugees, people displaced by colonialism/imperialism, and anyone whose heritage includes ‘here and elsewhere’
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🔵 SubmittedNigeria

The Lagos Review

Personal essay

Pay
$250 per published essay
Words
Up to 1,500 words
Eligible
The official call does not state a nationality restriction
Verified
2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Granta

Fiction and non-fiction

Pay
Pays contributors — rate not stated
Words
No set maximum or minimum; most submissions run 3,000–6,000 words
Eligible
Official: committed to offering a home to writing by those who are marginalised or underrepresented — writers of colour, working class or low-income writers, queer, transgender, non-binary and gender-nonconforming writers, and writers with disabilities
Verified
2026-10

Best paid

Highest stated pay, open now

Ranked on the figure the publication itself states, converted to USD only for comparison.

🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

WIRED

Features & tech

Pay
$2,500+ per feature
Words
~5,000 words
Eligible
No stated country restriction; strong reporting required
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Kill Your Darlings

Short fiction

Pay
Minimum $1,000≈ $720 USD
Words
2,000–5,000 words
Eligible
Official and restrictive in a way that costs money: "We only accept fiction submissions from KYD Members
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

New Lines Magazine

World journalism, essays

Pay
$600–$800
Words
Not stated as a hard limit
Eligible
No stated country restriction — it publishes writers from around the globe, with Africa-focused editorial
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Pellicle

Feature, long read or photo essay

Pay
£375–£675 per commission≈ $507–$913 USD
Words
1,500–2,500+ words depending on format
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Personal essay

Pay
$500
Words
No hard personal-essay limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
Eligible
Official page: pitches and original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Longform nonfiction

Pay
$500 (personal/critical essays); reading lists $350
Words
Most features 2,000-6,000 words (guideline, not a rule)
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Drift

Essays, criticism, fiction, poetry

Pay
$2,000 essays; $500–$1,000 stories; $150 poems; $25 Mentions
Words
Essays: 2–4 paragraph pitch; fiction: no word limit; Mentions: 150-word reviews
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Boston Review

Long-form essays, book review essays, interviews, analysis and occasional reporting

Pay
Around $500 for web pieces; modest honorarium for other writers
Words
Most essays run 2,500–5,000 words
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09

No country restriction

Open to writers anywhere

Publications whose own guideline places no geographic restriction on who may submit.

🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedNigeria

The Republic

Personal Essay

Pay
₦100,000≈ $76 USD
Words
2,001–3,000 words
Eligible
The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyNigeria

Oriire

Long-form, folktales, essays, interviews, heritage reviews, listicles, encounters

Pay
₦10,000 per article; ₦5,000 per codex entry≈ $3.78–$11 USD
Words
Not publicly stated
Eligible
The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🔵 SubmittedNigeria

The Lagos Review

Personal essay

Pay
$250 per published essay
Words
Up to 1,500 words
Eligible
The official call does not state a nationality restriction
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Adi Magazine

Again column (book reflection)

Pay
$300
Words
Up to 1,500 words
Eligible
The official submissions page does not list countries
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Personal essay

Pay
$500
Words
No hard personal-essay limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
Eligible
Official page: pitches and original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Reading list

Pay
$350
Words
Not publicly stated
Eligible
Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Reported feature

Pay
From 50 cents per word
Words
No hard limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
Eligible
Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States

Noema Magazine

Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
Words
Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
Eligible
The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
Verified
2026-10

Opens later

Reopening on a stated date.

Closed today, with the publication naming when it reopens. Worth a diary note.

  • 2026-11-01 — American Poetry Journal · The February 2027 issue window runs 1 November 2026 to 30 November 2026; the October 2027 window opens 1 July 2027
  • 2026-11-01 — khōréō · Next fiction window runs 1–30 November 2026 (themed submissions)
  • 2026-12-01 — Extra Teeth · Submissions closed. Next open call 1–14 December 2026.
  • 2026-12-01 — Granta · Granta opens four windows in 2026: 1-31 March, 1-30 June, 1-30 September and 1-31 December. The September window closed on 30 September 2026; the next opens at 10 a.m. UK time on 1 December and closes at midnight UK time on 31 December 2026. Poetry is closed, though Granta says it aims to reopen soon. Re-checked 1 October 2026.
  • 2026-12-01 — EVENT · Fiction and poetry are accepted in January, July, August and December only. Canadian Fiction and Canadian Poetry (August 2026) hit their caps and closed. Non-fiction comes mainly through the annual Non-Fiction Contest, deadline 15 October.
  • 2026-12-15 — Black Warrior Review · Reads in two windows a year, predominantly 15 December to 1 March and 1 June to 30 September - so the summer window closed on 30 September 2026 and the winter window opens 15 December 2026. The page warns the dates are liable to change as the masthead turns over
  • 2027-01-04 — Bennington Review · The next reading period runs 4 January 2027 to 5 March 2027
  • 2027-02-01 — Aurealis · Two reading periods a year. Australian writers and subscribers from anywhere: 1 February to 30 September. Anyone anywhere: 1-14 March only. The 2026 window closed on 30 September 2026; the next opens 1 February 2027, and a writer who is neither Australian nor a subscriber has only 1-14 March 2027. Re-checked 1 October 2026.

Weekly digest

The week’s verified opportunities, by email.

Get the digest

One email a week: every newly verified paying opportunity, one practical guide, and what closed or changed. Three minutes, free, no spam, unsubscribe anytime.

New: the data is in. Pay ranges, AI policies and rights transparency across every tracked market, computed from the database itself — read the State of Paid Writing 2026 report, and bookmark the submission-window calendar.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest