Fiction, Poetry, Creative nonfiction
The Idaho Review
The Idaho Review pays $300 for a short story and $75 for each accepted poem, sends two copies of the print issue, and charges no entry fee. It reads 8 September to 15 November, most stories run under 25 double-spaced pages, and simultaneous submissions are accepted with immediate withdrawal. It buys first worldwide serial rights and states nothing about AI; the nonfiction rate is not stated on the page.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-10
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $300 per short story, $75 per accepted poem, plus two contributor copiesOf the other 48 records based in the United States that state a flat-fee figure, 19 state less, 29 state more.
- Length
- No designated page limit, though most stories published run under 25 double-spaced pages; the page asks for one submission per reading period
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Reading period 8 September to 15 November; the journal may close early on volumeor reopen in winter or spring
- Response time
- Six months or less
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeYes. If your submission is accepted elsewhere, please immediately withdraw it from consideration for publication in Idaho Review. โ https://idahoreview.org/submit (read 2026-10-01)
- AI policy
- Not statedThe guideline is silent. BRYME records that 127 of the 288 publications on this desk do restrict AI-assisted work, so silence here is not permission โ ask.
- Rights
- StatedFirst worldwide serial rights are bought on acceptance; the page states no other rights position.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- AI policy โ assume disclosure is expected unless the editor says otherwise.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-10-01. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records based in the United States quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $300 per short story, $75 per accepted poem, plus two contributor copies
- Word count
- No designated page limit, though most stories published run under 25 double-spaced pages; the page asks for one submission per reading period
- Submission
- Online through Submittable; post is accepted only from incarcerated writers or writers with accessibility needs.
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-10
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Fiction, Poetry, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: The Idaho Review guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Short stories, with most published pieces running under 25 double-spaced pages.
- Poetry, paid per accepted poem.
- Creative nonfiction of all kinds - the page says it is open to publishing all different kinds.
- Work sent during the 8 September to 15 November reading period.
Subjects they avoid
- More than one submission per reading period, unless the editors ask for more.
- Mailed submissions, except from incarcerated writers or writers with accessibility needs that require post.
- Simultaneous work that is accepted elsewhere without immediate withdrawal.
Key requirements
- Read https://idahoreview.org/submit before sending.
- Submit through Submittable during the reading period that runs 8 September to 15 November; the journal may close early on volume.
- Indicate the genre in the cover letter, and send one submission per reading period.
- Withdraw immediately if a simultaneous piece is accepted elsewhere.
- There is no entry fee.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
First worldwide serial rights are bought on acceptance; the page states no other rights position.
AI policy
Not stated in the guideline
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Online through Submittable; post is accepted only from incarcerated writers or writers with accessibility needs.
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Online through Submittable; post is accepted only from incarcerated writers or writers with accessibility needs.
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://idahoreview.org/submit before sending.
- Submit once during the 8 September to 15 November window, through Submittable.
- Say which genre the piece is in, in the cover letter.
- Note the pay: $300 a story and $75 a poem, with two copies and no fee.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Six months or less
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-10.