Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction
Booth
Booth pays $50 for every piece it publishes, whatever the length, sent by PayPal after online publication. It reads 1 September to 30 November and 1 January to 31 March, taking up to three poems or micro essays, two flashes, or one prose piece of up to 7,500 words, and charges $3 to submit. Simultaneous work is fine if you withdraw it, and AI-assisted writing is refused.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-10
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $50 per published piece, regardless of lengthOf the other 48 records based in the United States that state a flat-fee figure, 16 state less, 30 state more, 2 state exactly this. After online publication, by PayPal.
- Length
- Poetry or micro essays: up to 3 pieces, micro meaning 300 words or fewer.Flash: up to 2 pieces of 500 words or fewer. Fiction or creative nonfiction: up to 7,500 words in a single document.
- Who can submit
- Not statedOfficial page: "Anyone can submit to Booth except for Butler employees, current Butler students, or anyone with affiliations to Butler's MFA program." No country restriction stated.
- Reading period
- Reads 1 September to 30 November, then 1 January to 31 Marchresponses usually go out by the end of May
- Response time
- By the end of May
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions okay? You bet. But you should know that if your work is accepted elsewhere and you don't bother to withdraw it from our submission manager, your name goes on the Secret List of writers who did not withdraw their simultaneous submissions. โ https://booth.submittable.com/submit (read 2026-10-01)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- Not statedBRYME records that 149 of the 288 publications on this desk state their terms. This one does not. Ask what rights you are assigning, for how long and for what territory, before you sign anything.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Rights โ you may be asked to assign more than you expect. Get the terms in writing.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-10-01. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records based in the United States quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $50 per published piece, regardless of length
- Word count
- Poetry or micro essays: up to 3 pieces, micro meaning 300 words or fewer. Flash: up to 2 pieces of 500 words or fewer. Fiction or creative nonfiction: up to 7,500 words in a single document.
- Submission
- Online form through Submittable; one submission at a time.
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-10
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: Booth guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Fiction, poetry, flash and micro work - the magazine says it publishes writing it loves and is not prescriptive about genre.
- Creative nonfiction alongside fiction.
- Themed calls, announced from time to time on the page.
Subjects they avoid
- Work made with generative AI: "We do not accept submissions aided by generative AI."
- More than one submission at a time.
- Prose over 7,500 words, or more pieces than the category allows.
- Work from Butler employees, current Butler students, or anyone affiliated with Butler's MFA program.
Key requirements
- Read https://booth.submittable.com/submit before sending.
- Submit through Submittable, where each submission carries a $3.00 charge.
- Poetry or micro essays: up to 3 pieces, micro being 300 words or fewer.
- Flash: up to 2 pieces of 500 words or fewer.
- Fiction or creative nonfiction: one piece, up to 7,500 words, in a single document.
- Withdraw accepted simultaneous work from the submission manager.
Who can submit
Official page: "Anyone can submit to Booth except for Butler employees, current Butler students, or anyone with affiliations to Butler's MFA program." No country restriction stated.
Rights
Not stated on the guidelines page.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Online form through Submittable; one submission at a time.
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Online form through Submittable; one submission at a time.
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://booth.submittable.com/submit before sending.
- Submit through the Submittable form; the form asks you to confirm the work was not made with AI.
- Send no more than the category allows - one prose piece, two flashes, or three poems or micro essays.
- If a simultaneous submission is taken elsewhere, withdraw it through the submission manager.
What happens after submission
Expected response: By the end of May
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-10.