THE BRYME WRITERS
OCTOBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing โ€” free, independent, human-verified.

Poetry, Fiction, Nonfiction, Translation

West Branch

West Branch pays $100 per poetry submission and $0.10/word for prose up to a maximum of $200, plus two contributor copies and a one-year subscription. Reads unsolicited manuscripts Aug 1-Apr 1.

๐ŸŸข Currently accepting Verified 2026-09

The docket

The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 304-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.

Payment
$100/poetry, $0.10/word up to $200 (prose)The highest figure of the 6 records based in the United States that state a per-word rate. On acceptance.
Length
up to 6 poems or 30 pages of prose
Who can submit
Open internationallyThe guideline states no geographic restriction. Diaspora writers are explicitly welcome.
Reading period
Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
Response time
Query after four months
Simultaneous submissions
Not statedThe guideline does not address simultaneous submissions. BRYME records that as silence rather than assuming a yes: if you are sending the same piece to several publications, say so in your cover letter and withdraw it everywhere the moment it is taken.
AI policy
Not statedThe guideline is silent. BRYME records that 138 of the 304 publications on this desk do restrict AI-assisted work, so silence here is not permission โ€” ask.
Rights
StatedFirst North American serial rights, plus two contributor copies and a one-year subscription.
Experience
Not statedThe guideline sets no experience requirement. BRYME records that as silence, not as a welcome โ€” a first-time writer is not excluded, but nor are they invited.

What this record does not tell you

This publication leaves 4 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ€” a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.

  • Reading period โ€” no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
  • Simultaneous submissions โ€” the guideline leaves this open, so declare it in your cover letter rather than assuming.
  • AI policy โ€” assume disclosure is expected unless the editor says otherwise.
  • Experience โ€” look at what kind of writer this publication normally publishes before you pitch; its guideline does not say.

Record last human-checked 2026-09-05. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records based in the United States quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.

Quick facts

Payment
$100/poetry, $0.10/word up to $200 (prose)
Word count
up to 6 poems or 30 pages of prose
Submission
Online submission manager
International writers
Yes
Status
๐ŸŸข Currently accepting
Last verified
2026-09
๐ŸŸก Research only. BRYME has researched this opportunity but has not yet submitted to it. Nothing here should be read as a claim of acceptance, publication or payment.

What this publication wants

This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ€” not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Nonfiction, Translation. Official guideline: West Branch guidelines.

Topics, themes and styles they look for

  • Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction and translation of original, unpublished work.
  • Up to six poems or thirty pages of a single prose piece.
  • Short-form fiction may be submitted as up to three pieces, so long as total pages stay under fifteen.

Subjects they avoid

  • No more than two submissions per contributor in a given reading period - extras are rejected.
  • Print only original, unpublished work.

Key requirements

  • Paginated file with author name on each page
  • Prose double-spaced with word count
  • Up to 6 poems or 30 pages prose
  • No more than two submissions per reading period

Who can submit

Open to submissions from any location; first North American serial rights purchased.

Rights

First North American serial rights, plus two contributor copies and a one-year subscription.

AI policy

Not stated in the guideline

How to write for them

Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.

BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ€” they are not the publication's official rules.

How to pitch

Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ€” always adapt it to the publication's guideline.

  1. Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
  2. Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
  3. Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
  4. Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
  5. Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ€” angle, structure, length.
  6. Say why it fits this publication.
  7. Include 2โ€“3 relevant clips or links.
  8. Close professionally and thank them for their time.
  9. Send through the official channel only.
Open Last verified 2026-09-05 Official submission page

Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.

Track this pitch

How to submit

Online submission manager

Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.

What the guideline asks you to prepare

  • Submit via the West Branch online submission manager (Bucknell). File must be paginated with the name on each page; prose double-spaced with a word count.
  • Wait four months before querying for a response.
Safety note. Never pay to submit your work. A legitimate publication does not ask writers to pay a fee or provide identity documents to be considered. If you are asked to, do not proceed.

What happens after submission

Expected response: Query after four months

If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest