Creative nonfiction, Personal essay, Poetry, Translation
The Offing
The Offing pays $25–$100 per accepted piece (by department and length). For 2026 submissions are fee-free, and simultaneous/hybrid work is welcome.
🟢 Currently accepting Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 304-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $25–$100 (by department & length)Of the other 51 records based in the United States that state a flat-fee figure, 7 state less, 37 state more, 7 state exactly this.
- Length
- Essays to 5,000 words
- Who can submit
- Open worldwideThe guideline states the call is worldwide. Diaspora writers are explicitly welcome.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Up to six months (per guidelines)
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions are accepted, provided you withdraw promptly if accepted elsewhere. — https://brittlepaper.com/2026/04/call-for-submissions-literary-magazine-the-offing-is-open-and-free-to-submit/ (read 2026-09-30)
- AI policy
- Not statedThe guideline is silent. BRYME records that 138 of the 304 publications on this desk do restrict AI-assisted work, so silence here is not permission — ask.
- Rights
- StatedOriginal work, unpublished in English; translated work requires secured permission from the original author or rights holder.
- Experience
- Not statedThe guideline sets no experience requirement. BRYME records that as silence, not as a welcome — a first-time writer is not excluded, but nor are they invited.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it — a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Reading period — no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- AI policy — assume disclosure is expected unless the editor says otherwise.
- Experience — look at what kind of writer this publication normally publishes before you pitch; its guideline does not say.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-21. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records based in the United States quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $25–$100 (by department & length)
- Word count
- Essays to 5,000 words
- Submission
- Submittable (no email submissions)
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- 🟢 Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus — not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Creative nonfiction, Personal essay, Poetry, Translation. Official guideline: The Offing guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Work at the edges of genre and form across departments (fiction, nonfiction, poetry; art windows vary)
- 2026 open calls include Back of the Envelope, Insight, and Translation: Poetry (translations due June 1, 2026 - up to 6 poems, with permission from rights holders)
- Original, unpublished-in-English work
Subjects they avoid
- Previously published work
- Email submissions - Submittable only
- More than one submission per department at a time
Key requirements
- Free to submit in 2026 (no submission fees, donor-supported); tip-jar option exists
- Pay: $25-$100 depending on department and length
- Simultaneous submissions allowed
- Response can take up to six months
Who can submit
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction.
Rights
Original work, unpublished in English; translated work requires secured permission from the original author or rights holder.
AI policy
Not stated in the guideline
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions — they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends — always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph — angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2–3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Submittable (no email submissions)
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submittable (no email submissions)
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Submit via The Offing's Submittable (check which departments are open before sending)
- Translated poetry: include both original language and English, bios for author and translator, rights permission and context notes
What happens after submission
Expected response: Up to six months (per guidelines)
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.