🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Long-form essays, book review essays, interviews, analysis and occasional reporting
- Pay
- Around $500 for web pieces; modest honorarium for other writers
- Words
- Most essays run 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported news, features, analysis, first person
- Pay
- $300 a day (usually 1–3 days)≈ $217–$651 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated. Fee is a day rate, not a word rate.
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Online analysis / polemic
- Pay
- $180 (+ 12% super, + GST if applicable)≈ $130 USD
- Words
- Pitch page: finished online articles generally 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- The official online nonfiction page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, features, news analysis, interviews, videos and investigations
- Pay
- €100 standard for a commentary piece; competitive rates for features≈ $116 USD
- Words
- Most analyses, features and interviews run 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on contributors
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Reported analysis
- Pay
- ₦150,000 (or $100 outside Nigeria)≈ $113 USD
- Words
- 1,000-1,500 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Online reported analysis
- Pay
- $100–$200 honorarium if writing is your primary income
- Words
- Typically 1,200–1,500 words online; longer considered case by case
- Eligible
- Official: academics, activists, students and journalists
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Speculative fiction, poetry, reviews, essays and criticism
- Pay
- $10-$50, only when Patreon funds permit
- Words
- Stories up to 8,000 words; the $10 tier is under 2,500
- Eligible
- Open to writers from around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Explainer / reported essay
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Most stories 1,500–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Climate explainer / reported story
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Assignments 800–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
News, analysis, first person, opinion, investigations
- Pay
- 40 cents per published word
- Words
- Opinion ~800; first person 1,000–1,200; news under 1,000; news features/analysis typically 1,200–1,400; investigations 2,000+
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
News analysis, op-ed, features, essays, investigations
- Pay
- Fees vary — not a published fixed rate
- Words
- Average about 1,000 words; longer if exceptionally well written
- Eligible
- Official: they prioritise writers of African descent based on the continent, but are open to articles from anyone who meets their editorial standards
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reportage, arguments, history essays, first person, reviews
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- Official page: submissions on virtually any topic from anywhere in the world if the story is compelling, well written and accurate
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Climate news, features, investigations
- Pay
- From £0.35 a word
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. A standard news story is described as 600 words; longer features exist. No single required range.
- Eligible
- Official: freelance journalists, experts and organisations
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported or argued piece on the Americas
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official contact page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Opinion and reported features
- Pay
- 40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
- Words
- Assigned per commission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Commentary essays and criticism
- Pay
- Pays for everything published — rate not stated
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported stories, essays and reviews
- Pay
- $1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
- Words
- Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Reported science and environment pieces, analysis, reviews
- Pay
- Paid per piece - figure not published
- Words
- Up to 1,000 words; hard cap 1,100
- Eligible
- The guidelines state no geographic restriction on who may write for the desk
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
News, opinion, ground reports, policy and defence analysis
- Pay
- Paid for commissioned work - figure not published
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Long-form reportage, politics, culture and photo essays
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official submission page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The submission page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
Analysis, opinion, reflections and investigations
- Pay
- Discussed per commission — no published rate
- Words
- Features run 1,500–3,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, criticism, music video and film reviews
- Pay
- No pay for unsolicited submissions; incentives for consistent contributors
- Words
- Usually 700–800 words; occasionally 900 or a little more
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Analytic op-eds
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Around 800 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
International affairs analysis
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Environmental journalism, expert commentary and social video
- Pay
- Competitive market rates in the author's region — no figure published
- Words
- Articles of 1,000–1,500 words; pitch outline 300 words
- Eligible
- Open worldwide, with regional commissioning
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, book reviews, literary commentary, think pieces and essays
- Pay
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Words
- Fiction up to 2,500 words; reviews, commentary and essays up to 1,500
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations
- Pay
- $150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
- Words
- 700–2,500 words depending on section
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Money and freelance articles
- Pay
- Up to $200 (some assignments $100–250)
- Words
- Minimum 1,500 words; listed assignments 2,000+
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09