🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Long-form essays, book review essays, interviews, analysis and occasional reporting
- Pay
- Around $500 for web pieces; modest honorarium for other writers
- Words
- Most essays run 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Environment journalism
- Pay
- $500 (short) · $750–$1,500 (long) · $500 (interview) · $400 (review)
- Words
- Dispatches 1,200-1,500; features 2,500-3,000 (print ~2,800 common)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Interview
- Pay
- Typically £150≈ $203 USD
- Words
- 4,000–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they do not discriminate on age, gender, nationality, race or sexuality
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, article or interview
- Pay
- £150 per 3,000 words≈ $203 USD
- Words
- 2,000–3,000 words as a rule
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, features, news analysis, interviews, videos and investigations
- Pay
- €100 standard for a commentary piece; competitive rates for features≈ $116 USD
- Words
- Most analyses, features and interviews run 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on contributors
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, interviews, cultural criticism, poetry and fiction
- Pay
- $100 per review or essay, $50 per interview, $50 per newspaper publication of a poem or short story
- Words
- Fiction in the Letras y Disparates section: 1,500-word limit. Poems in that section: up to three sent. No limit stated for reviews or essays.
- Eligible
- Official page: the review prioritises "radical writers from Texas, especially those from the central Texas area", and states no country restriction on submitting
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, essays, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- $40 per poem, $200 per story or essay, $100 per book review, craft essay or interview
- Words
- Poetry: 2-6 poems per submission; prose guidelines are on the page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word prose (max $250), $40 per poem≈ $29–$181 USD
- Words
- Maximum 5 poems per submission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, author interviews, features and essays
- Pay
- $25 for reviews and interviews, $75 for features
- Words
- Reviews run about 600-800 words; length for features and essays is settled at commissioning
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, interviews and omnibus reviews
- Pay
- $25 per printed page for regular submissions; $100 per story or essay for BLAST online exclusives
- Words
- No length restrictions stated for fiction and nonfiction, though the editors suggest reading back issues; poetry features run 6-14 pages of poems from each of three poets per issue; interviews and omnibus reviews cover 3-6 recently published books
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated, and submissions by post are accepted
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Speculative fiction, poetry, reviews, essays and criticism
- Pay
- $10-$50, only when Patreon funds permit
- Words
- Stories up to 8,000 words; the $10 tier is under 2,500
- Eligible
- Open to writers from around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Prose, poetry, interviews and reviews
- Pay
- $10/page prose (max $100), $25/poem, $50 reviews≈ $7.23–$36 USD
- Words
- Prose to 4,000 words; poems max 6 pages each
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Long-form, folktales, essays, interviews, heritage reviews, listicles, encounters
- Pay
- ₦10,000 per article; ₦5,000 per codex entry≈ $3.78–$11 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature
- Pay
- From 50 cents per word
- Words
- No hard limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States
Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
- Eligible
- The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
News, analysis, first person, opinion, investigations
- Pay
- 40 cents per published word
- Words
- Opinion ~800; first person 1,000–1,200; news under 1,000; news features/analysis typically 1,200–1,400; investigations 2,000+
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
News analysis, op-ed, features, essays, investigations
- Pay
- Fees vary — not a published fixed rate
- Words
- Average about 1,000 words; longer if exceptionally well written
- Eligible
- Official: they prioritise writers of African descent based on the continent, but are open to articles from anyone who meets their editorial standards
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported stories, essays and reviews
- Pay
- $1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
- Words
- Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, flash, creative nonfiction, interviews, reviews and graphic narrative
- Pay
- No rate stated — the journal is reader-funded by subscription
- Words
- No word limit stated; flash and micro forms are explicitly welcome
- Eligible
- Restricted to self-identified mothers and parents
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Literary non-fiction - essays, reviews, interviews and memoir
- Pay
- $65-720 depending on the length of accepted work
- Words
- No formal word limit; the magazine tends toward 1,000-5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- £35 per poem≈ $47 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Open internationally — they will reply by email to work sent from abroad, though they cannot return manuscripts from outside the UK
- Verified
- 2026-09