Fiction, Creative nonfiction, Poetry
Bellevue Literary Review
Bellevue Literary Review pays published authors $150 for prose and $75 for poetry, against a $5 general submission fee that is waived for current subscribers. Fiction and nonfiction run to 5,000 words, though most published prose is 2,000 to 4,000, and poets may send up to three poems of any length. It acquires First North American rights, with all other rights reverting after publication.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $150 for prose; $75 for poetryOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 51 state less, 8 state more, 4 state exactly this. On publication.
- Length
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 5,000 words (most published prose is 2,000โ4,000); up to three poems of any length
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Not stated; inquire after five months
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeWe happily consider simultaneous submissions, but please inform us immediately if your work is accepted elsewhere. โ https://blreview.org/submit/ (read 2026-09-30)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedBLR acquires First North American rights and the right to reprint in anthologies and online. After publication all other rights revert to the author, and the work may be reprinted as long as BLR is acknowledged.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Reading period โ no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $150 for prose; $75 for poetry
- Word count
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 5,000 words (most published prose is 2,000โ4,000); up to three poems of any length
- Submission
- Submittable โ $5 fee, waived for subscribers
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Fiction, Creative nonfiction, Poetry. Official guideline: Bellevue Literary Review guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 5,000 words, though most published prose falls between 2,000 and 4,000 words.
- Up to three poems as one submission. Poems may be of any length, though shorter poems let BLR include more poets.
Subjects they avoid
- Work created or materially shaped by generative artificial intelligence tools. By submitting, authors affirm the work is their own original writing, has not been previously published, and was not created or materially shaped by generative AI.
- Previously published work.
- Submissions by email or hard copy mail, except where accessibility accommodations require it.
Key requirements
- Submit electronically through Submittable; email and hard copy are not accepted except for accessibility accommodations.
- Pay the $5 general fee unless you are a current subscriber.
- Keep prose to 5,000 words and send at most three poems.
- If five months pass with no word, email to ask about the submission.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
BLR acquires First North American rights and the right to reprint in anthologies and online. After publication all other rights revert to the author, and the work may be reprinted as long as BLR is acknowledged.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Submittable โ $5 fee, waived for subscribers
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submittable โ $5 fee, waived for subscribers
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://blreview.org/submit/ before sending.
- Subscribe if you submit often โ it waives the fee.
- Only query after five months.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Not stated; inquire after five months
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.