Fiction, Poetry, Essays, Creative nonfiction
Epiphany
Epiphany pays $75 per poem and $175 per essay or story in print, and $50 per poem and $150 per essay or story for online-only publication. Print submissions run in two windows, May 1 to June 15 and November 1 to December 15, and the magazine typically responds within five to six months.
๐ด Currently closed Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- Print: $75 per poem, $175 per essay or story.Of the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 45 state less, 14 state more, 4 state exactly this. Online only: $50 per poem, $150 per essay or story
- Length
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Five to six months
- Simultaneous submissions
- Not statedThe guideline does not address simultaneous submissions. BRYME records that as silence rather than assuming a yes: if you are sending the same piece to several publications, say so in your cover letter and withdraw it everywhere the moment it is taken.
- AI policy
- Not statedThe guideline is silent. BRYME records that 127 of the 288 publications on this desk do restrict AI-assisted work, so silence here is not permission โ ask.
- Rights
- Not statedBRYME records that 149 of the 288 publications on this desk state their terms. This one does not. Ask what rights you are assigning, for how long and for what territory, before you sign anything.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 6 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Reading period โ no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- Simultaneous submissions โ the guideline leaves this open, so declare it in your cover letter rather than assuming.
- AI policy โ assume disclosure is expected unless the editor says otherwise.
- Rights โ you may be asked to assign more than you expect. Get the terms in writing.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- Print: $75 per poem, $175 per essay or story. Online only: $50 per poem, $150 per essay or story
- Word count
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Submission
- Submission manager - see the submit page
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ด Currently closed
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Fiction, Poetry, Essays, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: Epiphany guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Stories, poems, essays and genre-bending work.
- Writing that fits the range of work the magazine has already published.
Subjects they avoid
- Sending before reading recent work - the magazine asks you to familiarize yourself with it first.
Key requirements
- Submissions for the Fall/Winter print issue run May 1 to June 15.
- Submissions for the Spring/Summer print issue run November 1 to December 15.
- Submit through the magazine's submission manager.
- Those facing financial hardship may request a fee waiver through the contact form on the website.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
Not stated on the public submit page.
AI policy
Not stated in the guideline
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Not accepting submissions at the last check.
How to submit
Submission manager - see the submit page
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submission manager - see the submit page
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://epiphanymagazine.org/submit before sending.
- Both print windows were closed on the date this record was read (2026-09-30). The Spring/Summer window opens November 1 and closes December 15.
- Print submissions are considered for online-only publication automatically, at the lower online rate.
- Expect five to six months for a response.
- If a fee is a barrier, ask for a waiver through the contact form.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Five to six months
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.