Fiction, Creative nonfiction, Poetry, Reviews
F(r)iction
F(r)iction pays $25 per final printed page and sends two free contributor copies, with a $2.50 charge per submission that the magazine says goes toward paying its contributors. It takes short fiction of 1,001-7,500 words, creative nonfiction up to 6,500, flash of 1,000 words or fewer, poetry, and reviews of 500-1,000 words. Simultaneous submissions are accepted with withdrawal, AI work is refused, and rights revert to the author on publication.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-10
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $25 per final printed page, plus two free contributor copiesOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 26 state less, 24 state more, 13 state exactly this.
- Length
- Short fiction 1,001-7,500 words; creative nonfiction up to 6,500 words; flash fiction 1,000 words or fewer, up to three pieces in a three-pack; reviews 500 words preferred, up to 1,000
- Who can submit
- Not statedOfficial page: no country restriction stated. The magazine is published by Brink Literacy Project, which the page names without stating where it is based.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Not statedNo response time recorded. A follow-up after two to three weeks is reasonable; silence past that is a soft no, not a rejection.
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions are accepted, but please notify us immediately by choosing "withdraw" in Submittable if your work is selected for publication elsewhere. โ https://frictionlit.org/about/submit (read 2026-10-01)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedF(r)iction retains first publishing rights on works published in print or online, and publishing rights revert to the author upon publication.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 4 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Reading period โ no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- Response time โ expect to wait blind, and keep other pitches live.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-10-01. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $25 per final printed page, plus two free contributor copies
- Word count
- Short fiction 1,001-7,500 words; creative nonfiction up to 6,500 words; flash fiction 1,000 words or fewer, up to three pieces in a three-pack; reviews 500 words preferred, up to 1,000
- Submission
- Online form through Submittable; separate portals for the journal, the Log and contests.
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-10
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Fiction, Creative nonfiction, Poetry, Reviews. Official guideline: F(r)iction guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Short fiction, creative nonfiction, flash fiction and poetry, regardless of genre, style or origin.
- Reviews of books and literary journals of 500-1,000 words.
- Work by writers who opt in to having their details shared with the magazine's partner literary agents.
- As many pieces as a writer likes - the page says to submit as many as you would like.
Subjects they avoid
- Work from artificial intelligence generators or similar: "No AI submissions".
- Prose outside the stated limits - fiction under 1,001 words belongs in flash, and nonfiction over 6,500 words is out of scope.
- Simultaneous work that is selected elsewhere without withdrawing it.
Key requirements
- Read https://frictionlit.org/about/submit and the formatting guidelines before sending.
- Submit through the correct portal: the F(r)iction Series portal is for journal submissions only, and contests have their own.
- Pay the $2.50 per-submission charge, which the magazine says funds contributor payment.
- Keep to the genre limits, and choose the three-pack for up to three flash pieces.
- Withdraw immediately through Submittable if a simultaneous piece is selected elsewhere.
Who can submit
Official page: no country restriction stated. The magazine is published by Brink Literacy Project, which the page names without stating where it is based.
Rights
F(r)iction retains first publishing rights on works published in print or online, and publishing rights revert to the author upon publication.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Online form through Submittable; separate portals for the journal, the Log and contests.
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Online form through Submittable; separate portals for the journal, the Log and contests.
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://frictionlit.org/about/submit before sending.
- Submit through the F(r)iction Series portal; contests and the Log use their own.
- Keep fiction between 1,001 and 7,500 words, nonfiction under 6,500, and flash under 1,000 - three to a three-pack.
- Withdraw at once if a simultaneous piece is selected elsewhere.
- Note the $2.50 submission charge and the $25 per printed page rate.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Not publicly stated
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-10.