Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction
Ink In Thirds
Ink In Thirds pays $5 per contributor, with a floor of $3 should donations fall, and charges no fees. It takes prose up to 600 words - drabbles, microfiction, flash - alongside poetry and art, reading 1 April to 31 July and 1 October to 31 January, with art always open. It acquires exclusive first rights and non-exclusive archival rights, accepts simultaneous submissions, and refuses AI created content and previously published work.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-10
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $5 per contributor, with a stated floor of $3 depending on donationsOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 1 state less, 58 state more, 4 state exactly this.
- Length
- Prose up to 600 words, one piece per form - including 3-word stories, 100-word stories, drabbles, microfiction and flash fiction; poetry and art also accepted
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Two reading periods for poetryand prose: 1 April to 31 July for the fall/winter issues, and 1 October to 31 January; photography and visual art are always open
- Response time
- Not statedNo response time recorded. A follow-up after two to three weeks is reasonable; silence past that is a soft no, not a rejection.
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeWe DO ACCEPT simultaneous submissions. โ https://inkinthirds.org/submissions (read 2026-10-01)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedInk in Thirds acquires exclusive first rights, and maintains non-exclusive archival rights.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Response time โ expect to wait blind, and keep other pitches live.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-10-01. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $5 per contributor, with a stated floor of $3 depending on donations
- Word count
- Prose up to 600 words, one piece per form - including 3-word stories, 100-word stories, drabbles, microfiction and flash fiction; poetry and art also accepted
- Submission
- Online through the magazine's submission manager.
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-10
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: Ink In Thirds guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Short prose up to 600 words: 3-word stories, 100-word stories, drabbles, microfiction and flash fiction.
- Poetry, in the magazine's stated register of work that makes the reader feel something.
- Photography and visual art, which are read year-round.
- Work for either reading period - 1 April to 31 July, or 1 October to 31 January.
Subjects they avoid
- AI created content.
- Previously published work: the page treats anything posted or otherwise made publicly available online as previously published.
- Lewd or graphic images, excessive profanity, or overtly disturbing mental images in art submissions.
- Prose over 600 words.
Key requirements
- Read https://inkinthirds.org/submissions before sending.
- Submit during a reading period: 1 April to 31 July or 1 October to 31 January, with art always open.
- Keep prose within 600 words, one piece per form.
- There is no fee to submit.
- Note the compensation is $5 per contributor, with a $3 floor.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
Ink in Thirds acquires exclusive first rights, and maintains non-exclusive archival rights.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Online through the magazine's submission manager.
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Online through the magazine's submission manager.
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://inkinthirds.org/submissions before sending.
- Submit through the manager during a reading period - the 1 October to 31 January window is open; art can be sent at any time.
- Send up to 600 words of prose, or poetry, and note that the payment is per contributor rather than per piece.
- Do not send anything previously published online, and no AI created content.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Not publicly stated
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-10.