Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction
Litmosphere: Journal of Charlotte Lit
Litmosphere, the journal of Charlotte Lit, pays $25 for each accepted poem or flash piece and $50 for each accepted short fiction or nonfiction piece, taking first electronic rights and non-exclusive archival rights while copyright stays with the author. It takes fiction and literary nonfiction of 1,500 to 5,000 words, flash of up to 500 words, and up to three poems. AI-generated or assisted work is prohibited.
๐ก Opens soon Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $25 per poem or flash piece; $50 per short fiction or nonfiction pieceOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 26 state less, 24 state more, 13 state exactly this.
- Length
- Fiction and literary nonfiction 1,500โ5,000 words; flash up to 500 words each
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Submissions open through Submittable during January for the Spring issueand during July for the Fall issue. The queue closes at 300 submissions and usually fills well before the end of the month.
- Response time
- Not statedNo response time recorded. A follow-up after two to three weeks is reasonable; silence past that is a soft no, not a rejection.
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions acceptable. โ https://litmosphere.charlottelit.org/submissions/ (read 2026-09-30)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedLitmosphere takes first electronic rights and non-exclusive archival rights. Copyright remains with the author.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Response time โ expect to wait blind, and keep other pitches live.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $25 per poem or flash piece; $50 per short fiction or nonfiction piece
- Word count
- Fiction and literary nonfiction 1,500โ5,000 words; flash up to 500 words each
- Submission
- Submittable โ open in January and July only
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ก Opens soon
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: Litmosphere: Journal of Charlotte Lit guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Short fiction and literary nonfiction of 1,500 to 5,000 words.
- Flash of up to 500 words each, up to three pieces, preferably stories or essays that speak to each other.
- Up to three poems, ideally related topically, thematically or stylistically โ Litmosphere prefers to showcase multiple pieces as a set from each selected contributor.
Subjects they avoid
- AI-generated or AI-assisted work. Prohibited outright.
- Submissions outside the January and July windows.
- Prose longer than 5,000 words.
Key requirements
- Submit through Charlotte Lit's Submittable page during January or July.
- Fiction and nonfiction: one piece, 1,500โ5,000 words, in a readable font.
- Flash: up to three pieces of up to 500 words each.
- Poetry: up to three poems, up to ten pages total.
- If a piece is accepted elsewhere, withdraw through Submittable's Message function โ not Notes.
- Expect the queue to close early; it caps at 300 submissions.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
Litmosphere takes first electronic rights and non-exclusive archival rights. Copyright remains with the author.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Opens in windows. Currently between reading periods.
How to submit
Submittable โ open in January and July only
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submittable โ open in January and July only
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Check whether the January or July window is open before you prepare anything.
- Send related pieces together โ the journal deliberately showcases sets.
- Do not submit by email; Submittable is the only route.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Not stated; the queue closes at 300 submissions
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.