THE BRYME WRITERS
OCTOBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing โ€” free, independent, human-verified.

Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction

Ninth Letter

Ninth Letter pays $25 per poem and $100 for prose in its print issues, plus two complimentary copies, and $25 per poem or $75 per piece of prose for its web issues. It takes one story or essay of up to 8,000 words, three to five poems, or flash, and acquires First North American Serial Rights. Work created, guided or revised with generative AI is not accepted, though assistive tools such as dictation and spell check are permitted.

๐ŸŸข Currently accepting Verified 2026-09

The docket

The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.

Payment
Print: $100 prose, $25 per poem + 2 copies. Web: $75 prose, $25 per poemOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 26 state less, 24 state more, 13 state exactly this. Upon publication.
Length
One story or essay up to 8,000 words; 3โ€“5 poems; flash up to 3 pieces totalling 4,000 words
Who can submit
Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Reading period
Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
Response time
Within six months for print, four months for web issues
Simultaneous submissions
You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions are welcome! โ€” https://ninthletter.com/submit/ (read 2026-09-30)
AI policy
AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
Rights
StatedNinth Letter acquires First North American Serial Rights.
Experience
Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ€” it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.

What this record does not tell you

This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ€” a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.

  • Who can submit โ€” the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
  • Reading period โ€” no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
  • Experience โ€” BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.

Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.

Quick facts

Payment
Print: $100 prose, $25 per poem + 2 copies. Web: $75 prose, $25 per poem
Word count
One story or essay up to 8,000 words; 3โ€“5 poems; flash up to 3 pieces totalling 4,000 words
Submission
Submittable โ€” $3 reading fee
International writers
Yes
Status
๐ŸŸข Currently accepting
Last verified
2026-09
๐ŸŸก Research only. BRYME has researched this opportunity but has not yet submitted to it. Nothing here should be read as a claim of acceptance, publication or payment.

What this publication wants

This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ€” not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: Ninth Letter guidelines.

Topics, themes and styles they look for

  • Fiction and creative nonfiction: one story or essay of up to 8,000 words at a time.
  • Poetry: three to five poems.
  • Flash: up to three pieces with a total word count of no more than 4,000 words.
  • Unpublished work only โ€” including work self-published on websites or blogs.

Subjects they avoid

  • Work created, guided or revised using generative AI intervention or prompts. Ninth Letter states it is interested in human creativity and human writing processes, not the generative capabilities of AI or LLMs.
  • Previously published work, including self-published work on websites and blogs.
  • Submissions by email attachment โ€” they will not be read.
  • Note the distinction that does apply: assistive AI tools such as spell check, grammar check, dictation, speech-to-text and screen-reading software are permitted.

Key requirements

  • Submit electronically through Submittable; email submissions are not read.
  • Pay the $3 reading fee.
  • Keep prose to 8,000 words and poetry to three to five poems.
  • Simultaneous submissions are welcome โ€” send a withdrawal message immediately on acceptance elsewhere.

Who can submit

No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.

Rights

Ninth Letter acquires First North American Serial Rights.

AI policy

Prohibited

How to write for them

Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.

BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ€” they are not the publication's official rules.

How to pitch

Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ€” always adapt it to the publication's guideline.

  1. Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
  2. Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
  3. Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
  4. Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
  5. Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ€” angle, structure, length.
  6. Say why it fits this publication.
  7. Include 2โ€“3 relevant clips or links.
  8. Close professionally and thank them for their time.
  9. Send through the official channel only.
Open Last verified 2026-09-30 Official submission page

Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.

Track this pitch

How to submit

Submittable โ€” $3 reading fee

Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.

What the guideline asks you to prepare

  • Read https://ninthletter.com/submit/ for the full guidelines before sending.
  • Do not email your manuscript.
  • Assistive accessibility tools are fine; generative AI is not.
Safety note. Never pay to submit your work. A legitimate publication does not ask writers to pay a fee or provide identity documents to be considered. If you are asked to, do not proceed.

What happens after submission

Expected response: Within six months for print, four months for web issues

If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest