THE BRYME WRITERS
OCTOBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing โ€” free, independent, human-verified.

Humour, Essays, Articles

Points in Case

Points in Case pays $35 for accepted articles of a preferred 600 to 1,000 words and $10 for accepted lists of 200 to 600 words, typically within five days of acceptance. It replies to every submission, with an average response time of two weeks, and does not accept AI-assisted writing. Article and list submissions through Submittable are always free.

๐ŸŸข Currently accepting Verified 2026-09

The docket

The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.

Payment
$35 per accepted article; $10 per accepted listOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 6 state less, 49 state more, 8 state exactly this. Typically within five days of acceptance.
Length
Articles 600โ€“1,000 words preferred; lists 200โ€“600 words preferred
Who can submit
Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Reading period
Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
Response time
Average two weeks; replies to every submission
Simultaneous submissions
You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions are welcome, but please withdraw your work immediately if it is accepted elsewhere. โ€” https://www.pointsincase.com/submissions (read 2026-09-30)
AI policy
AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
Rights
Not statedBRYME records that 149 of the 288 publications on this desk state their terms. This one does not. Ask what rights you are assigning, for how long and for what territory, before you sign anything.
Experience
Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ€” it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.

What this record does not tell you

This publication leaves 4 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ€” a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.

  • Who can submit โ€” the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
  • Reading period โ€” no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
  • Rights โ€” you may be asked to assign more than you expect. Get the terms in writing.
  • Experience โ€” BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.

Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.

Quick facts

Payment
$35 per accepted article; $10 per accepted list
Word count
Articles 600โ€“1,000 words preferred; lists 200โ€“600 words preferred
Submission
Submittable โ€” rolling, always free
International writers
Yes
Status
๐ŸŸข Currently accepting
Last verified
2026-09
๐ŸŸก Research only. BRYME has researched this opportunity but has not yet submitted to it. Nothing here should be read as a claim of acceptance, publication or payment.

What this publication wants

This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ€” not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Humour, Essays, Articles. Official guideline: Points in Case guidelines.

Topics, themes and styles they look for

  • Articles, preferably 600 to 1,000 words.
  • Lists, preferably 200 to 600 words.

Subjects they avoid

  • AI-assisted writing. Points in Case asks that generative AI not be used to draft or revise a submission.

Key requirements

  • Submit articles and lists through Submittable, on a rolling basis, always free.
  • Keep articles to 600โ€“1,000 words and lists to 200โ€“600 words.
  • Expect a reply in about two weeks โ€” every submission is answered.
  • Paid add-ons exist for a faster decision or editorial notes if you want them.

Who can submit

No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.

Rights

Not stated on the official submissions page.

AI policy

Prohibited

How to write for them

Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.

BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ€” they are not the publication's official rules.

How to pitch

Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ€” always adapt it to the publication's guideline.

  1. Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
  2. Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
  3. Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
  4. Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
  5. Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ€” angle, structure, length.
  6. Say why it fits this publication.
  7. Include 2โ€“3 relevant clips or links.
  8. Close professionally and thank them for their time.
  9. Send through the official channel only.
Open Last verified 2026-09-30 Official submission page

Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.

Track this pitch

How to submit

Submittable โ€” rolling, always free

Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.

What the guideline asks you to prepare

  • Read https://www.pointsincase.com/submissions before sending.
  • Rolling and free, with a two-week average โ€” one of the faster markets here.
  • Payment lands within about five days of acceptance.
Safety note. Never pay to submit your work. A legitimate publication does not ask writers to pay a fee or provide identity documents to be considered. If you are asked to, do not proceed.

What happens after submission

Expected response: Average two weeks; replies to every submission

If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest