Poetry, Fiction
Raleigh Review
Raleigh Review offers optional payment of $15 per work used plus one copy of the magazine, and pays in extra copies for contributors without a bank account or PayPal. It takes fiction up to 1,000 words and from 1,001 to 7,500 words, aims for First North American Rights with all rights reverting on publication, and typically responds in one to three months.
🟢 Currently accepting Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $15 per work used, plus one copy of the magazineOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 17 state less, 42 state more, 4 state exactly this.
- Length
- Fiction up to 1,000 words, and fiction from 1,001 to 7,500 words
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- General submissions for poetry, flash fictionand short fiction open 1 January to 31 March. As of 30 September 2026 Submittable is open for poetry submissions and DuoSuma is closed while the editors catch up on reading.
- Response time
- Typically 1–3 months, occasionally 3–6
- Simultaneous submissions
- Not statedThe guideline does not address simultaneous submissions. BRYME records that as silence rather than assuming a yes: if you are sending the same piece to several publications, say so in your cover letter and withdraw it everywhere the moment it is taken.
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedRaleigh Review aims for First North American Rights on everything it publishes. Fiction, poetry and contest work are all First North American Rights opportunities, and all rights revert back to the author on publication.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered — it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it — a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit — the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Simultaneous submissions — the guideline leaves this open, so declare it in your cover letter rather than assuming.
- Experience — BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $15 per work used, plus one copy of the magazine
- Word count
- Fiction up to 1,000 words, and fiction from 1,001 to 7,500 words
- Submission
- Submittable (poetry currently open) — DuoSuma closed
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- 🟢 Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus — not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction. Official guideline: Raleigh Review guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Fiction up to 1,000 words.
- Fiction from 1,001 to 7,500 words.
- Poetry, including for the Raleigh Review Poetry Book Prize.
Subjects they avoid
- Artificial intelligence, plagiarism, abridging, or renaming a piece that was published elsewhere. The magazine says plainly not to try it.
Key requirements
- Check which portal is open — Submittable for poetry, DuoSuma currently closed.
- General submissions for poetry, flash and short fiction run 1 January to 31 March.
- Expect one to three months, occasionally up to six.
- If you have no bank account or PayPal, say so — payment comes in extra copies.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
Raleigh Review aims for First North American Rights on everything it publishes. Fiction, poetry and contest work are all First North American Rights opportunities, and all rights revert back to the author on publication.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions — they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends — always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph — angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2–3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Submittable (poetry currently open) — DuoSuma closed
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submittable (poetry currently open) — DuoSuma closed
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://raleighreview.org/submit and check which portal is open before sending.
- Poetry is open now on Submittable; DuoSuma is closed.
- The extra-copies option is a real alternative if you cannot take a transfer.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Typically 1–3 months, occasionally 3–6
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.