Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction
Rawhead
Rawhead takes poetry of up to seven poems across fifteen pages and fiction or nonfiction of up to 3,000 words. Standard submissions are unpaid โ the journal says it is actively seeking funding and hopes to pay all contributors one day โ but it awards $100 each to one outstanding artist and one standout writer per standard issue, and $30 to each featured contributor in Rawhead: Point Blank. Submissions must be original, human-made and free of AI assistance.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- Standard submissions unpaid; $100 award to one writer and one artist per issueNot applicable โ standard submissions unpaid.
- Length
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 3,000 words; up to 7 poems totalling 15 pages
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Not statedNo response time recorded. A follow-up after two to three weeks is reasonable; silence past that is a soft no, not a rejection.
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeWe accept simultaneous submissions. โ https://rawheadjournal.org/submit-to-rawhead/ (read 2026-09-30)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedBy accepting publication, authors grant Rawhead First Serial Rights, Non-Exclusive Reprint Rights, Electronic Rights, Archival Rights and Non-Exclusive Anthology Rights.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 4 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Reading period โ no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- Response time โ expect to wait blind, and keep other pitches live.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. This record holds no figure BRYME could compare, so no ranking appears above it. Where a rate is quoted per word, it is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- Standard submissions unpaid; $100 award to one writer and one artist per issue
- Word count
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 3,000 words; up to 7 poems totalling 15 pages
- Submission
- Submittable โ paid expedited response options
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: Rawhead guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Poetry: up to seven poems totalling no more than fifteen pages.
- Fiction and nonfiction of up to 3,000 words.
- Visual art โ one artist per issue receives a $100 award.
Subjects they avoid
- AI-generated content. Submissions must be original, human-made and free of AI assistance.
Key requirements
- Submit through Submittable.
- Keep prose to 3,000 words and poetry to seven poems across fifteen pages.
- Take a paid expedited option if you need a decision fast โ $5 or $10 for two weeks, $15 for 72 business hours.
- Critique packages are available on Submittable if you want the work developed first.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
By accepting publication, authors grant Rawhead First Serial Rights, Non-Exclusive Reprint Rights, Electronic Rights, Archival Rights and Non-Exclusive Anthology Rights.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Submittable โ paid expedited response options
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submittable โ paid expedited response options
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://rawheadjournal.org/submit-to-rawhead/ before sending.
- Standard submissions are unpaid โ the $100 is a per-issue award, not a rate.
- Pay for speed only if you need it; the standard queue is free.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Not stated; two weeks guaranteed for a $5 or $10 expedited option
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.