Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction
The Baltimore Review
The Baltimore Review pays $75 for non-contest work — as an Amazon gift certificate, or through PayPal if preferred — plus a copy of the annual print compilation in which the work appears. It does not accept work generated in whole or in part by AI, declines prose over 5,000 words, and notifies you within four months. All rights revert to the author.
🟢 Currently accepting Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $75 as an Amazon gift certificate or via PayPal, plus a copy of the annual print compilationOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 51 state less, 8 state more, 4 state exactly this.
- Length
- Prose up to 5,000 words; no more than three poems
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Within four months
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeSimultaneous submissions are absolutely fine. — https://baltimorereview.org/submit (read 2026-09-30)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedAll rights revert to the author after publication. In the agreement for accepted work, authors must confirm they are the sole author and own all rights to their work.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered — it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 3 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it — a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit — the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Reading period — no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- Experience — BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $75 as an Amazon gift certificate or via PayPal, plus a copy of the annual print compilation
- Word count
- Prose up to 5,000 words; no more than three poems
- Submission
- Submittable only — no email or post
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- 🟢 Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus — not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction. Official guideline: The Baltimore Review guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Poetry, short fiction and creative nonfiction, selected from the Submittable queue on merit and the needs of the journal.
- Submissions in more than one category.
Subjects they avoid
- Work generated in whole or in part by artificial intelligence. The review states it wants to provide a space for human expression and believes human voices and ideas are powerful.
- Prose exceeding 5,000 words.
- More than three poems in a submission.
- A book review, or other work that is clearly not creative nonfiction.
- Multiple submissions during one submission period.
- Emailed submissions or submissions sent by post — neither is considered.
Key requirements
- Submit through Submittable. Email and postal submissions are not considered.
- Keep prose under 5,000 words and send at most three poems.
- Submit once per category per reading period.
- Expect a decision within four months.
- Confirm in the agreement that you are the sole author and own all rights to your work.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
All rights revert to the author after publication. In the agreement for accepted work, authors must confirm they are the sole author and own all rights to their work.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions — they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends — always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph — angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2–3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Submittable only — no email or post
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Submittable only — no email or post
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://baltimorereview.org/submit before sending.
- The $75 applies to non-contest work — the $8 fee is for contests.
- Submittable is the only route in.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Within four months
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.