Fiction, Essays, Poetry
Ubwali Literary Magazine
Ubwali Literary Magazine offers a one-off $10 payment to each contributor whose work is accepted, paid per artist rather than per piece, and charges no reading fees. It takes fiction of 3,000 to 6,000 words, essays of up to 3,000 words and one to three poems. It does not consider or accept AI-generated work, and all rights revert 90 days after publication.
๐ข Currently accepting Verified 2026-09
The docket
The nine things that decide whether a pitch is worth sending. Every answer below is either taken from the publication’s own guideline or computed by BRYME from the 288-publication desk. Where the publication does not say, the docket says so instead of filling the gap in.
- Payment
- $10 one-off per accepted contributorOf the other 63 records quoting in USD on this desk that state a figure, 6 state less, 49 state more, 8 state exactly this.
- Length
- Fiction 3,000โ6,000 words; essays up to 3,000 words; 1โ3 poems in one document
- Who can submit
- Not statedNo stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
- Reading period
- Not yet assessedBRYME has not recorded a reading period for this market from its guideline page. That is our gap rather than the publication's silence: it does not mean the window is open, and it does not mean there is none. Read the guideline linked on this page before you send.
- Response time
- Not statedNo response time recorded. A follow-up after two to three weeks is reasonable; silence past that is a soft no, not a rejection.
- Simultaneous submissions
- You may submit elsewhere at the same timeWe read and strongly encourage simultaneous submissions. โ https://www.ubwali.com/submissions (read 2026-09-30)
- AI policy
- AI-assisted work is prohibitedThe guideline forbids AI-generated or AI-assisted writing.
- Rights
- StatedUbwali requests first serial rights for every piece it accepts. All rights revert to the author 90 days after publication.
- Experience
- Not yet assessedBRYME has read this publication's guideline but has not yet put the experience question to it, so this row is untouched rather than unanswered โ it is our gap, not theirs. Treat it exactly as you would an unstated policy.
What this record does not tell you
This publication leaves 4 of the nine questions unanswered. BRYME publishes that gap instead of filling it โ a generated answer would look complete and cost you a pitch.
- Who can submit โ the guideline leaves this open, so ask before you spend an evening on the pitch rather than assuming a yes.
- Reading period โ no window recorded yet, so check the guideline before you pitch rather than assuming it is open.
- Response time โ expect to wait blind, and keep other pitches live.
- Experience โ BRYME has not assessed this one yet, so do not read the blank as either a welcome or a bar. Look at who the publication normally publishes before you pitch.
Record last human-checked 2026-09-30. Sources listed at the foot of this page. Figures are compared only against other records quoting in USD on this desk quoted the same way, so a per-word rate is never ranked against a flat fee.
Quick facts
- Payment
- $10 one-off per accepted contributor
- Word count
- Fiction 3,000โ6,000 words; essays up to 3,000 words; 1โ3 poems in one document
- Submission
- Online submission โ no reading fee
- International writers
- Yes
- Status
- ๐ข Currently accepting
- Last verified
- 2026-09
What this publication wants
This is BRYME's summary of the publication's focus โ not a copy of their website. Type of writing: Fiction, Essays, Poetry. Official guideline: Ubwali Literary Magazine guidelines.
Topics, themes and styles they look for
- Fiction of 3,000 to 6,000 words.
- Essays of up to 3,000 words.
- One to three poems in a single document.
- Visual art.
Subjects they avoid
- AI-generated work. Ubwali states it does not consider or accept it.
- Fiction outside the 3,000 to 6,000 word band.
Key requirements
- Send your work through the submissions page; there is no reading fee.
- Group poems into a single document, one to three of them.
- Keep fiction between 3,000 and 6,000 words and essays under 3,000.
- Do not chase a slow reply โ Ubwali says a longer wait means the work is still being considered.
Who can submit
No stated country restriction on the guidelines page.
Rights
Ubwali requests first serial rights for every piece it accepts. All rights revert to the author 90 days after publication.
AI policy
Prohibited
How to write for them
Official requirement: always follow the publication's own guideline exactly.
BRYME's practical advice: write for the publication's audience, use a clear structure, keep paragraphs short, lead with a specific angle, and confirm the word count before submitting. These are practical suggestions โ they are not the publication's official rules.
How to pitch
Where a pitch is required, this is the general pattern BRYME recommends โ always adapt it to the publication's guideline.
- Research the publication and read several recent pieces.
- Choose a specific idea that fits their beat and audience.
- Write a concise subject line naming your idea.
- Introduce yourself in one or two lines (who you are, where you publish).
- Explain the proposed piece in a short paragraph โ angle, structure, length.
- Say why it fits this publication.
- Include 2โ3 relevant clips or links.
- Close professionally and thank them for their time.
- Send through the official channel only.
Accepting submissions now, with no stated closing date.
How to submit
Online submission โ no reading fee
Apply through the official channel below. BRYME only records submission destinations it has verified.
- Official guideline: opens the publication guideline (new tab)
- Submission: Online submission โ no reading fee
What the guideline asks you to prepare
- Read https://www.ubwali.com/submissions before sending.
- The payment is per contributor, so send your best set rather than many singles.
- No fee, so there is no cost to submitting.
What happens after submission
Expected response: Not stated; a slow reply means the work is still under consideration
If the publication does not state a response time, BRYME records that it is unknown. A follow-up is generally reasonable after a couple of weeks; if there is still no response, treat that as a likely non-acceptance rather than a rejection. Acceptance is normally communicated by the publication. If they accept, they will tell you exactly how to submit the final piece and, for most, how and when payment is made.
Check, question or correct this record
BRYME publishes its working, not just its conclusions. Last human check: 2026-09.