🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Short fiction
- Pay
- Minimum $1,000≈ $720 USD
- Words
- 2,000–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official and restrictive in a way that costs money: "We only accept fiction submissions from KYD Members
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, long read or photo essay
- Pay
- £375–£675 per commission≈ $507–$913 USD
- Words
- 1,500–2,500+ words depending on format
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIreland
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- €45/page (min €300, max €1,200)≈ $348–$1,394 USD
- Words
- Page-based; flashcards 1–2 pages
- Eligible
- Open to writers from Ireland and abroad; no stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $200+
- Words
- Most pieces under 7,000 words
- Eligible
- English-language writers from anywhere are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Short fiction
- Pay
- $580 print; $180 online (+ 12% super)≈ $130–$418 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated. Complete stories only — no novel excerpts.
- Eligible
- Official: currently only accepting fiction from writers living and/or working in or around Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Non-fiction, fiction, poetry and comics
- Pay
- Up to $650; $100/page poetry≈ $72–$470 USD
- Words
- Notes & Dispatches under 2,000 words; Features up to 5,000
- Eligible
- Official: their priority is work from emerging and established writers and artists who are Canadian or permanent residents of Canada, or whose work has a strong connection to Canada or would be relevant to a Canadian audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction
- Pay
- CAD$70 per published page≈ $51 USD
- Words
- Paid per published page
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £30 per poem≈ $41 USD
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- Official: for LGBTQ+ poets
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation
- Pay
- $40 CAD/page prose, $45 CAD/page poetry≈ $29–$33 USD
- Words
- Preferred length 4,000 words or less
- Eligible
- Open internationally — their mandate is to publish "the best in contemporary writing and translation from Canada and around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Short fiction, poetry, art
- Pay
- $0.05-$0.08/word (short stories)≈ $14–$579 USD
- Words
- short stories to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- Open to writers; pay rates published on the official guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Speculative fiction, poetry, reviews, essays and criticism
- Pay
- $10-$50, only when Patreon funds permit
- Words
- Stories up to 8,000 words; the $10 tier is under 2,500
- Eligible
- Open to writers from around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Climate news, features, investigations
- Pay
- From £0.35 a word
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. A standard news story is described as 600 words; longer features exist. No single required range.
- Eligible
- Official: freelance journalists, experts and organisations
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported or argued piece on the Americas
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official contact page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction story
- Pay
- 8–10¢ per word for short fiction
- Words
- Short fiction up to about 20,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: Analog will consider material submitted by any writer solely on the basis of merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fact article
- Pay
- 9¢ per word
- Words
- About 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: any writer, solely on merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary adventure fantasy short story
- Pay
- 8¢ per word
- Words
- Strongly prefer under 15,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: submissions from all writers, of all locations, nationalities, ethnicities, backgrounds, faiths, genders, orientations, identities and experiences
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Writing craft
- Pay
- ~$0.30–$0.50/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong craft knowledge expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Career & money
- Pay
- ~$0.40/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Opinion and reported features
- Pay
- 40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
- Words
- Assigned per commission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Commentary essays and criticism
- Pay
- Pays for everything published — rate not stated
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Food writing, essays, photo essays, recipes with a backstory
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The pitch page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
True first-person story or story-poem
- Pay
- $250 if published
- Words
- Recommended maximum 1,200 words; no official minimum. Longer pieces are rarely read.
- Eligible
- Official FAQ: they publish English-language stories from people around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- £200 print / £150 Substack≈ $203–$270 USD
- Words
- 800–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: a Scottish magazine with an international outlook
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry/interviews
- Words
- Not a single sitewide limit on the About page. El Alboroto (Spanish section) states a 2,500-word maximum — that is a different card.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Themed fiction or non-fiction
- Pay
- AUD$0.75/word print · AUD$200 poetry · AUD$500 online≈ $144–$360 USD
- Words
- No longer than 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official writers’ guidelines: most contributors are from Australia, some from overseas
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations
- Pay
- $150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
- Words
- 700–2,500 words depending on section
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal narrative essay
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- 2,000–6,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Money and freelance articles
- Pay
- Up to $200 (some assignments $100–250)
- Words
- Minimum 1,500 words; listed assignments 2,000+
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, non-fiction and poetry about place
- Pay
- Honorarium, $100 minimum
- Words
- Up to 30 pages
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and non-fiction
- Pay
- $400 prose / $100 poetry≈ $72–$289 USD
- Words
- One piece per submission period
- Eligible
- Official and strict: The New Quarterly publishes fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction exclusively by Canadian writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word (minimum $60)
- Words
- Up to 10,000 words; under 5,000 preferred
- Eligible
- Official: submissions from anywhere in the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- £35 per poem≈ $47 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Open internationally — they will reply by email to work sent from abroad, though they cannot return manuscripts from outside the UK
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Flash creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $45 honorarium if featured
- Words
- 750 words or fewer
- Eligible
- Official: they have published writers from India, Egypt, the Netherlands, Ireland, Spain, Malaysia, Qatar and Japan, and many previously unpublished authors
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Short story
- Pay
- £25 per 1,000 words≈ $34 USD
- Words
- 1,000–15,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they are based in the UK and are happy to consider short story submissions from authors all over the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Science fiction short story
- Pay
- £20 per 1,000 words≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Maximum 6,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they are particularly interested in work from authors of backgrounds underrepresented in the Western science fiction canon, and authors from outside the anglophone West
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 honorarium≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Official and strict: poets must be based in the UK or Ireland, and must not have published a full-length poetry collection in English or be under contract for one
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 per poem≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems per submission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and reviews
- Pay
- $40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)≈ $25–$29 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems, or one short story to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated for general submissions, though some categories carry their own eligibility requirements on Submittable — the August 2026 fiction and poetry calls were flagged as Canadian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Longform essay
- Pay
- Freelance fee or honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Generally 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- When open: academics and people with significant professional or practical expertise
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction and non-fiction
- Pay
- Pays contributors — rate not stated
- Words
- No set maximum or minimum; most submissions run 3,000–6,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: committed to offering a home to writing by those who are marginalised or underrepresented — writers of colour, working class or low-income writers, queer, transgender, non-binary and gender-nonconforming writers, and writers with disabilities
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Creative non-fiction
- Pay
- Pays for all published work — rate not stated
- Words
- 500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they publish the best in creative non-fiction from around the globe
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry and short fiction
- Pay
- Pays for every piece published — rate not stated
- Words
- Stories to 2,200 words; poems to 40 lines
- Eligible
- Mslexia is a magazine for women's writing and its submission routes are for women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and graphic narratives
- Pay
- Pays contributor fees — schedule not on the public page
- Words
- Online nonfiction ~1,500 words; print nonfiction rarely over 4,000
- Eligible
- Official and restrictive: "Island welcomes submissions from Australia, New Zealand and Australians living abroad
- Verified
- 2026-09