🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Again column (book reflection)
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported news, features, analysis, first person
- Pay
- $300 a day (usually 1–3 days)≈ $217–$651 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated. Fee is a day rate, not a word rate.
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Online analysis / polemic
- Pay
- $180 (+ 12% super, + GST if applicable)≈ $130 USD
- Words
- Pitch page: finished online articles generally 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- The official online nonfiction page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, features, news analysis, interviews, videos and investigations
- Pay
- €100 standard for a commentary piece; competitive rates for features≈ $116 USD
- Words
- Most analyses, features and interviews run 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on contributors
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟢 Accepted, scheduledOpen to all
Stories, essays, thinkpieces, rants
- Pay
- $75
- Words
- 600–800 words
- Eligible
- Black Africans and Black African diasporas
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Humour articles and lists
- Pay
- $35 per accepted article; $10 per accepted list
- Words
- Articles 600–1,000 words preferred; lists 200–600 words preferred
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
News, analysis, first person, opinion, investigations
- Pay
- 40 cents per published word
- Words
- Opinion ~800; first person 1,000–1,200; news under 1,000; news features/analysis typically 1,200–1,400; investigations 2,000+
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
News analysis, op-ed, features, essays, investigations
- Pay
- Fees vary — not a published fixed rate
- Words
- Average about 1,000 words; longer if exceptionally well written
- Eligible
- Official: they prioritise writers of African descent based on the continent, but are open to articles from anyone who meets their editorial standards
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported or argued piece on the Americas
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official contact page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature, essay, op-ed, review
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Not publicly stated. They run reported features, book reviews, photo essays, op-eds and about a dozen long-form narratives a year.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Opinion and reported features
- Pay
- 40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
- Words
- Assigned per commission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Commentary essays and criticism
- Pay
- Pays for everything published — rate not stated
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
News, opinion, ground reports, policy and defence analysis
- Pay
- Paid for commissioned work - figure not published
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
Analysis, opinion, reflections and investigations
- Pay
- Discussed per commission — no published rate
- Words
- Features run 1,500–3,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, criticism, music video and film reviews
- Pay
- No pay for unsolicited submissions; incentives for consistent contributors
- Words
- Usually 700–800 words; occasionally 900 or a little more
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Analytic op-eds
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Around 800 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
International affairs analysis
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Environmental journalism, expert commentary and social video
- Pay
- Competitive market rates in the author's region — no figure published
- Words
- Articles of 1,000–1,500 words; pitch outline 300 words
- Eligible
- Open worldwide, with regional commissioning
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Comedy lists
- Pay
- $100–150 (first 4) → $200–250 (5th+); $100 top-10 bonus
- Words
- 6–8 entries per list
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09