🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Long-form essays, book review essays, interviews, analysis and occasional reporting
- Pay
- Around $500 for web pieces; modest honorarium for other writers
- Words
- Most essays run 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Environment journalism
- Pay
- $500 (short) · $750–$1,500 (long) · $500 (interview) · $400 (review)
- Words
- Dispatches 1,200-1,500; features 2,500-3,000 (print ~2,800 common)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Again column (book reflection)
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book review
- Pay
- $175
- Words
- Not publicly stated for reviews
- Eligible
- No country list on the current submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Online analysis / polemic
- Pay
- $180 (+ 12% super, + GST if applicable)≈ $130 USD
- Words
- Pitch page: finished online articles generally 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- The official online nonfiction page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Nonfiction narrative and reviews
- Pay
- $100, plus two complimentary issues, a one-year subscription and discounted further copies
- Words
- Reviews 1,000–1,200 words; no limit stated for nonfiction narrative
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction, personal essays, poetry, book reviews and cover photography
- Pay
- $300 per short story or essay, $100 per poet, $100 for cover photography
- Words
- Stories and essays of 15-25 manuscript pages, one piece at a time; poetry up to 7 poems and 20 pages, with single long poems up to 10 pages
- Eligible
- Official page: "Authors do NOT need to be residents of Colorado or the United States
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, interviews, cultural criticism, poetry and fiction
- Pay
- $100 per review or essay, $50 per interview, $50 per newspaper publication of a poem or short story
- Words
- Fiction in the Letras y Disparates section: 1,500-word limit. Poems in that section: up to three sent. No limit stated for reviews or essays.
- Eligible
- Official page: the review prioritises "radical writers from Texas, especially those from the central Texas area", and states no country restriction on submitting
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, essays, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- $40 per poem, $200 per story or essay, $100 per book review, craft essay or interview
- Words
- Poetry: 2-6 poems per submission; prose guidelines are on the page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays, opinion and travel writing, plus art
- Pay
- $30 per published piece; $75 for cover art
- Words
- Poetry, fiction and all prose forms up to 1,500 words; up to three pieces per submission; one to two pieces for nonfiction and essays
- Eligible
- Official page: "We welcome submissions from students ages 13-22
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays and book reviews
- Pay
- $25 for book reviews (not guaranteed); three $2,000 annual awards
- Words
- Single-book reviews 500–900 words; essay-reviews of groups of books run longer
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, author interviews, features and essays
- Pay
- $25 for reviews and interviews, $75 for features
- Words
- Reviews run about 600-800 words; length for features and essays is settled at commissioning
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, interviews and omnibus reviews
- Pay
- $25 per printed page for regular submissions; $100 per story or essay for BLAST online exclusives
- Words
- No length restrictions stated for fiction and nonfiction, though the editors suggest reading back issues; poetry features run 6-14 pages of poems from each of three poets per issue; interviews and omnibus reviews cover 3-6 recently published books
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated, and submissions by post are accepted
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction, creative nonfiction, flash, poetry and reviews
- Pay
- $25 per final printed page, plus two free contributor copies
- Words
- Short fiction 1,001-7,500 words; creative nonfiction up to 6,500 words; flash fiction 1,000 words or fewer, up to three pieces in a three-pack; reviews 500 words preferred, up to 1,000
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Speculative fiction, poetry, reviews, essays and criticism
- Pay
- $10-$50, only when Patreon funds permit
- Words
- Stories up to 8,000 words; the $10 tier is under 2,500
- Eligible
- Open to writers from around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Prose, poetry, interviews and reviews
- Pay
- $10/page prose (max $100), $25/poem, $50 reviews≈ $7.23–$36 USD
- Words
- Prose to 4,000 words; poems max 6 pages each
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Speculative poetry, articles, essays and reviews
- Pay
- 7¢/word for poems ($7 minimum, $30 maximum); 5¢/word essays; $7 reviews
- Words
- Up to five poems of any length in a single email
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Haiku, senryu and prose about haiku
- Pay
- $5 per printed page for prose
- Words
- No prose length limit stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Long-form, folktales, essays, interviews, heritage reviews, listicles, encounters
- Pay
- ₦10,000 per article; ₦5,000 per codex entry≈ $3.78–$11 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary essay, criticism, reported literary piece
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch: 2–3 paragraphs; finished essay length not stated
- Eligible
- No country list on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reportage, arguments, history essays, first person, reviews
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- Official page: submissions on virtually any topic from anywhere in the world if the story is compelling, well written and accurate
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature, essay, op-ed, review
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Not publicly stated. They run reported features, book reviews, photo essays, op-eds and about a dozen long-form narratives a year.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, short fiction, non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- Pays for print — rate not stated
- Words
- Poetry to 40 lines; fiction to 4,000 words; non-fiction 800–2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Commentary essays and criticism
- Pay
- Pays for everything published — rate not stated
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported stories, essays and reviews
- Pay
- $1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
- Words
- Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Reported science and environment pieces, analysis, reviews
- Pay
- Paid per piece - figure not published
- Words
- Up to 1,000 words; hard cap 1,100
- Eligible
- The guidelines state no geographic restriction on who may write for the desk
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, criticism, music video and film reviews
- Pay
- No pay for unsolicited submissions; incentives for consistent contributors
- Words
- Usually 700–800 words; occasionally 900 or a little more
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, book reviews, literary commentary, think pieces and essays
- Pay
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Words
- Fiction up to 2,500 words; reviews, commentary and essays up to 1,500
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Entertainment news and features
- Pay
- Not published; described as consistent and timely payments
- Words
- Not stated on the work-with-us page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essays, fiction, poetry and book reviews
- Pay
- Unpaid — but no reading fees or publication fees either
- Words
- Essays 4,000–10,000 words; book reviews 1,200–1,600 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, flash, creative nonfiction, interviews, reviews and graphic narrative
- Pay
- No rate stated — the journal is reader-funded by subscription
- Words
- No word limit stated; flash and micro forms are explicitly welcome
- Eligible
- Restricted to self-identified mothers and parents
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, hybrid work, translation and reviews
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page; $3 per submission
- Words
- Fiction and creative nonfiction 5,000 words (or 3 pieces of up to 1,000 words); book reviews 500–750 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction, creative nonfiction and film writing
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Short fiction or creative nonfiction: 1 piece up to 3,000 words; film writing: synopsis of 150–200 words plus one still
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, reviews and artwork
- Pay
- Unpaid — the journal states it cannot offer monetary payment
- Words
- Generally not over 8,000 words; reviews no more than 1,200 words
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- $250–$620 depending on form≈ $180–$447 USD
- Words
- Fiction/CNF max 3,500 words; scholarly max 5,000; reviews ~800
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations
- Pay
- $150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
- Words
- 700–2,500 words depending on section
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction, poetry, essays and reviews
- Pay
- Flat £50 per piece≈ $68 USD
- Words
- Prose to 2,500 words; up to 3 poems totalling 100 lines
- Eligible
- Official: during their two annual windows they accept poetry, fiction and essays from writers in Scotland and beyond
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Literary non-fiction - essays, reviews, interviews and memoir
- Pay
- $65-720 depending on the length of accepted work
- Words
- No formal word limit; the magazine tends toward 1,000-5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- £35 per poem≈ $47 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Open internationally — they will reply by email to work sent from abroad, though they cannot return manuscripts from outside the UK
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and reviews
- Pay
- $40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)≈ $25–$29 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems, or one short story to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated for general submissions, though some categories carry their own eligibility requirements on Submittable — the August 2026 fiction and poetry calls were flagged as Canadian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Speculative fiction, essays, reviews
- Pay
- $20 per published story
- Words
- Short fiction up to 5,000; flash up to 1,000; essays/CNF up to 3,000; reviews 800–2,000
- Eligible
- Artists and writers from Africa and the African diaspora
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, reviews and visual art
- Pay
- $20 per poem in print, $30-$50 per prose piece in print by length, $150 for an eight-page art spread, $50 online, $30 on Substack
- Words
- Nonfiction under 4,000 words; fiction shorts and excerpts under 5,000 words; flash under 1,000 words; reviews 1,500-3,000 words; poetry up to three poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
African creative-industry features
- Pay
- Up to $1/word
- Words
- ~1,000–2,000 (negotiated)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09