BRYME
SEPTEMBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing — free, independent, human-verified.

Journalism & reporting

Publications that pay for journalism & reporting

Markets currently recorded as publishing journalism & reporting, with the pay and word count each one states.

34 publications32 accepting now27 open worldwide$54–$2,500 stated pay (USD equiv.)21 state no figure

Reported work needs access before it needs a pitch. Say in the pitch who you can already reach — that is often what decides a commission.

Filter these by pay, length and status

🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

WIRED

Features & tech

Pay
$2,500+ per feature
Words
~5,000 words
Eligible
No stated country restriction; strong reporting required
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

New Lines Magazine

World journalism, essays

Pay
$600–$800
Words
Not stated as a hard limit
Eligible
No stated country restriction — it publishes writers from around the globe, with Africa-focused editorial
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Pellicle

Feature, long read or photo essay

Pay
£375–£675 per commission≈ $507–$913 USD
Words
1,500–2,500+ words depending on format
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Longform nonfiction

Pay
$500 (personal/critical essays); reading lists $350
Words
2,000–6,000 words
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Earth Island Journal

Environment journalism

Pay
$500 (short) · $750–$1,500 (long) · $500 (interview) · $400 (review)
Words
Short pieces <1,000 words; reports 1,500–3,000 words
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Walrus

Essay or reported feature

Pay
From $500 (short essays); features up to $1/word≈ $362 USD
Words
Essays 1,000–4,000; reported features ~1,200–2,000; long-form 2,500–5,000
Eligible
The official page does not restrict essays and features by nationality
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Condé Nast Traveler

Travel feature, service, first person

Pay
From $300 for 500–600 words
Words
Rate example: 500–600 words. Other lengths exist; no single required range.
Eligible
No country list
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Tyee

Reported news, features, analysis, first person

Pay
$300 a day (usually 1–3 days)≈ $217–$651 USD
Words
Not publicly stated. Fee is a day rate, not a word rate.
Eligible
No nationality list
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all

Communiqué

Reported analysis

Pay
₦150,000 (or $100 outside Nigeria)≈ $113 USD
Words
1,000–1,500 words
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

NACLA

Online reported analysis

Pay
$100–$200 honorarium if writing is your primary income
Words
Typically 1,200–1,500 words online; longer considered case by case
Eligible
Official: academics, activists, students and journalists
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited Kingdom

WhatCulture

List-driven features

Pay
£40 per list (typical); 'certain content may attract alternative rates'≈ $54 USD
Words
1,500+ words (lists)
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Longreads

Reported feature

Pay
From 50 cents per word
Words
No hard limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
Eligible
Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States

Noema Magazine

Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
Words
Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
Eligible
The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Vox

Explainer / reported essay

Pay
Not a published fixed fee
Words
Most stories 1,500–2,500 words
Eligible
The official pitch page does not list countries
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Vox

Climate explainer / reported story

Pay
Not a published fixed fee
Words
Assignments 800–2,500 words
Eligible
The official pitch page does not list countries
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya

The New Humanitarian

News, analysis, first person, opinion, investigations

Pay
40 cents per published word
Words
Opinion ~800; first person 1,000–1,200; news under 1,000; news features/analysis typically 1,200–1,400; investigations 2,000+
Eligible
The official pitch page does not list countries
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

African Arguments

News analysis, op-ed, features, essays, investigations

Pay
Fees vary — not a published fixed rate
Words
Average about 1,000 words; longer if exceptionally well written
Eligible
Official: they prioritise writers of African descent based on the continent, but are open to articles from anyone who meets their editorial standards
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited States

Rest of World

Reported tech feature

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
Words
Pitch 300 words or less. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
Eligible
No nationality list
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Literary Hub

Literary essay, criticism, reported literary piece

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
Words
Not publicly stated
Eligible
No country list on the official pitch page
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

New Lines Magazine

Reportage, arguments, history essays, first person, reviews

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
Words
Pitch under 300 words. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
Eligible
Official page: submissions on virtually any topic from anywhere in the world if the story is compelling, well written and accurate
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal

Himal Southasian

Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction

Pay
Set rates — amount told on commission
Words
Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
Eligible
Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Climate Home News

Climate news, features, investigations

Pay
From £0.35 a word
Words
Pitch under 300 words. A standard news story is described as 600 words; longer features exist. No single required range.
Eligible
Official: freelance journalists, experts and organisations
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Americas Quarterly

Reported or argued piece on the Americas

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official contact page
Words
Not publicly stated
Eligible
No nationality list
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all

The Markaz Review

Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview

Pay
Honorarium — amount not published
Words
Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
Eligible
Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Undark Magazine

Reported feature, essay, op-ed, review

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
Words
Not publicly stated. They run reported features, book reviews, photo essays, op-eds and about a dozen long-form narratives a year.
Eligible
No country list
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all

STATEMENT Africa

African creative-industry features

Pay
Up to $1/word
Words
~1,000–2,000 (negotiated)
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Griffith Review

Literary essays and features

Pay
AUD $0.75/word
Words
~1,000–4,000 words
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Eater

Food culture

Pay
Pays per assigned piece
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Rest of World

Tech & world

Pay
$1/word
Words
Variable
Eligible
Open to writers in non-Western countries; pitches from regional writers welcome
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Broadview

Opinion and reported features

Pay
40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
Words
Assigned per commission
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

High Country News

Reported stories, essays and reviews

Pay
$1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
Words
Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Griffith Review

Themed fiction or non-fiction

Pay
AUD$0.75/word print · AUD$200 poetry · AUD$500 online≈ $144–$360 USD
Words
No longer than 4,000 words
Eligible
Official writers’ guidelines: most contributors are from Australia, some from overseas
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada

Briarpatch Magazine

Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations

Pay
$150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
Words
700–2,500 words depending on section
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
Verified
2026-09

Before you pitch

Read these first.

Every listing links to the publication’s own guideline and shows the date BRYME last checked it. A listing is an invitation to pitch — never a promise of acceptance or payment.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest