🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
World journalism, essays
- Pay
- $600–$800
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction — it publishes writers from around the globe, with Africa-focused editorial
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essay
- Pay
- $500
- Words
- No hard personal-essay limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: pitches and original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Longform nonfiction
- Pay
- $500 (personal/critical essays); reading lists $350
- Words
- Most features 2,000-6,000 words (guideline, not a rule)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, criticism, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $2,000 essays; $500–$1,000 stories; $150 poems; $25 Mentions
- Words
- Essays: 2–4 paragraph pitch; fiction: no word limit; Mentions: 150-word reviews
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Long-form essays, book review essays, interviews, analysis and occasional reporting
- Pay
- Around $500 for web pieces; modest honorarium for other writers
- Words
- Most essays run 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Environment journalism
- Pay
- $500 (short) · $750–$1,500 (long) · $500 (interview) · $400 (review)
- Words
- Dispatches 1,200-1,500; features 2,500-3,000 (print ~2,800 common)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Essay or reported feature
- Pay
- From $500 (short essays); features up to $1/word≈ $362 USD
- Words
- Essays 1,000–4,000; reported features ~1,200–2,000; long-form 2,500–5,000
- Eligible
- The official page does not restrict essays and features by nationality
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reading list
- Pay
- $350
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIreland
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- €45/page (min €300, max €1,200)≈ $348–$1,394 USD
- Words
- Page-based; flashcards 1–2 pages
- Eligible
- Open to writers from Ireland and abroad; no stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIreland
Fiction and long-form nonfiction
- Pay
- From €300 for pieces up to 2,500 words; rises with length≈ $348 USD
- Words
- No word limit stated on the current guidelines page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Again column (book reflection)
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🔵 SubmittedNigeria
Personal essay
- Pay
- $250 per published essay
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official call does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, article or interview
- Pay
- £150 per 3,000 words≈ $203 USD
- Words
- 2,000–3,000 words as a rule
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $200+
- Words
- Most pieces under 7,000 words
- Eligible
- English-language writers from anywhere are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Black women writers
- Pay
- $150
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Original creative work by Black women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food & home
- Pay
- ~$150 per assignment
- Words
- ~600–1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Online analysis / polemic
- Pay
- $180 (+ 12% super, + GST if applicable)≈ $130 USD
- Words
- Pitch page: finished online articles generally 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- The official online nonfiction page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary work of all forms
- Pay
- $120
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Online reported analysis
- Pay
- $100–$200 honorarium if writing is your primary income
- Words
- Typically 1,200–1,500 words online; longer considered case by case
- Eligible
- Official: academics, activists, students and journalists
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation
- Pay
- $100 honorarium
- Words
- Fiction 2,000–7,000 words; flash not considered
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Nonfiction narrative and reviews
- Pay
- $100, plus two complimentary issues, a one-year subscription and discounted further copies
- Words
- Reviews 1,000–1,200 words; no limit stated for nonfiction narrative
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction, personal essays, poetry, book reviews and cover photography
- Pay
- $300 per short story or essay, $100 per poet, $100 for cover photography
- Words
- Stories and essays of 15-25 manuscript pages, one piece at a time; poetry up to 7 poems and 20 pages, with single long poems up to 10 pages
- Eligible
- Official page: "Authors do NOT need to be residents of Colorado or the United States
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedNigeria
Personal Essay
- Pay
- ₦100,000≈ $76 USD
- Words
- 2,001–3,000 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟢 Accepted, scheduledOpen to all
Stories, essays, thinkpieces, rants
- Pay
- $75
- Words
- 600–800 words
- Eligible
- Black Africans and Black African diasporas
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Non-fiction, fiction, poetry and comics
- Pay
- Up to $650; $100/page poetry≈ $72–$470 USD
- Words
- Notes & Dispatches under 2,000 words; Features up to 5,000
- Eligible
- Official: their priority is work from emerging and established writers and artists who are Canadian or permanent residents of Canada, or whose work has a strong connection to Canada or would be relevant to a Canadian audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and first-person essays
- Pay
- $50 to one featured poem, one short story and one essay per issue
- Words
- Short stories no more than 2,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, interviews, cultural criticism, poetry and fiction
- Pay
- $100 per review or essay, $50 per interview, $50 per newspaper publication of a poem or short story
- Words
- Fiction in the Letras y Disparates section: 1,500-word limit. Poems in that section: up to three sent. No limit stated for reviews or essays.
- Eligible
- Official page: the review prioritises "radical writers from Texas, especially those from the central Texas area", and states no country restriction on submitting
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, essays, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- $40 per poem, $200 per story or essay, $100 per book review, craft essay or interview
- Words
- Poetry: 2-6 poems per submission; prose guidelines are on the page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, essays, poetry
- Pay
- CAD$50–$150≈ $36–$108 USD
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction, but writers must be able to accept e-transfer, PayPal or Canadian cheque
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays, opinion and travel writing, plus art
- Pay
- $30 per published piece; $75 for cover art
- Words
- Poetry, fiction and all prose forms up to 1,500 words; up to three pieces per submission; one to two pieces for nonfiction and essays
- Eligible
- Official page: "We welcome submissions from students ages 13-22
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, memoir, poetry, art
- Pay
- $25–$75
- Words
- Flash and short forms
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama
- Pay
- $25/page prose, $30/page poetry
- Words
- Prose up to ~20 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Human rights short stories, essays, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $50 per accepted written piece; $25 per accepted artist
- Words
- Short stories and essays 2,500 words or less; maximum five poems
- Eligible
- Open to writers worldwide, with a particular interest in creative activists at risk speaking about social-justice issues in their own environments
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays and book reviews
- Pay
- $25 for book reviews (not guaranteed); three $2,000 annual awards
- Words
- Single-book reviews 500–900 words; essay-reviews of groups of books run longer
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essays about farming, food and land
- Pay
- $25 honorarium or a copy of the book
- Words
- General essays and how-to essays, approximately 800 to 1,200 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, author interviews, features and essays
- Pay
- $25 for reviews and interviews, $75 for features
- Words
- Reviews run about 600-800 words; length for features and essays is settled at commissioning
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, interviews and omnibus reviews
- Pay
- $25 per printed page for regular submissions; $100 per story or essay for BLAST online exclusives
- Words
- No length restrictions stated for fiction and nonfiction, though the editors suggest reading back issues; poetry features run 6-14 pages of poems from each of three poets per issue; interviews and omnibus reviews cover 3-6 recently published books
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated, and submissions by post are accepted
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, CNF, poetry, art
- Pay
- $20 per contributor
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the official submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, essays, fiction and art for the journal; full-length manuscripts separately
- Pay
- US$20 per accepted piece in the journal
- Words
- No word or page limit stated for journal submissions; manuscript submissions are full-length works of at least 60 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, essays
- Pay
- $15
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry and prose
- Pay
- $10/page prose, $20/page poetry (max $150)
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Speculative fiction, poetry, reviews, essays and criticism
- Pay
- $10-$50, only when Patreon funds permit
- Words
- Stories up to 8,000 words; the $10 tier is under 2,500
- Eligible
- Open to writers from around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, essays, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $10 one-off per accepted contributor
- Words
- Fiction 3,000–6,000 words; essays up to 3,000 words; 1–3 poems in one document
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Humour articles and lists
- Pay
- $35 per accepted article; $10 per accepted list
- Words
- Articles 600–1,000 words preferred; lists 200–600 words preferred
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction, poetry and critical essays
- Pay
- $10 per poem, $25 per nonfiction essay, $25-$50 per story, plus a copy of the issue
- Words
- Fiction: 300-5,000 words. Nonfiction: critical essays of 500-800 words. Poetry: no line limit, but rare.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Speculative poetry, articles, essays and reviews
- Pay
- 7¢/word for poems ($7 minimum, $30 maximum); 5¢/word essays; $7 reviews
- Words
- Up to five poems of any length in a single email
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Haiku, senryu and prose about haiku
- Pay
- $5 per printed page for prose
- Words
- No prose length limit stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Long-form, folktales, essays, interviews, heritage reviews, listicles, encounters
- Pay
- ₦10,000 per article; ₦5,000 per codex entry≈ $3.78–$11 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, poetry, essays, translation and graphic fiction
- Pay
- ₹10,000 (about $104)≈ $1.10 USD
- Words
- 2,000-5,000 words; or five poems
- Eligible
- Open worldwide - the page states no nationality restriction, and English-language translations from other languages are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States
Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
- Eligible
- The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Explainer / reported essay
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Most stories 1,500–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
News analysis, op-ed, features, essays, investigations
- Pay
- Fees vary — not a published fixed rate
- Words
- Average about 1,000 words; longer if exceptionally well written
- Eligible
- Official: they prioritise writers of African descent based on the continent, but are open to articles from anyone who meets their editorial standards
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary essay, criticism, reported literary piece
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch: 2–3 paragraphs; finished essay length not stated
- Eligible
- No country list on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reportage, arguments, history essays, first person, reviews
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- Official page: submissions on virtually any topic from anywhere in the world if the story is compelling, well written and accurate
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
SF/F non-fiction article
- Pay
- 10¢ per word, up to 2,500 words
- Words
- Up to 2,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list on the official non-fiction guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature, essay, op-ed, review
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Not publicly stated. They run reported features, book reviews, photo essays, op-eds and about a dozen long-form narratives a year.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Literary essays and features
- Pay
- AUD $0.75/word
- Words
- ~2,000-5,000 words (essays, fiction, features)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Writing craft
- Pay
- ~$0.30–$0.50/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong craft knowledge expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food culture
- Pay
- Pays per assigned piece
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & essays
- Pay
- Up to ~$1/word
- Words
- 800–1,400 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; content is aimed at a 50+ US audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Career & money
- Pay
- ~$0.40/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays & analysis
- Pay
- Pays per assignment
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short prose
- Pay
- Pays per accepted piece
- Words
- Short prose
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, criticism
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Centers Africa and the African diaspora; strongly relevant to African and diaspora writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, short fiction, non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- Pays for print — rate not stated
- Words
- Poetry to 40 lines; fiction to 4,000 words; non-fiction 800–2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Opinion and reported features
- Pay
- 40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
- Words
- Assigned per commission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Commentary essays and criticism
- Pay
- Pays for everything published — rate not stated
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported stories, essays and reviews
- Pay
- $1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
- Words
- Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Food writing, essays, photo essays, recipes with a backstory
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The pitch page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
Analysis, opinion, reflections and investigations
- Pay
- Discussed per commission — no published rate
- Words
- Features run 1,500–3,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Commentary, criticism, music video and film reviews
- Pay
- No pay for unsolicited submissions; incentives for consistent contributors
- Words
- Usually 700–800 words; occasionally 900 or a little more
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
International affairs analysis
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, book reviews, literary commentary, think pieces and essays
- Pay
- Not stated on the submissions page
- Words
- Fiction up to 2,500 words; reviews, commentary and essays up to 1,500
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyPortugal
Poetry, short fiction, translation, photography, drawing, essay and nonfiction prose
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- No word limit stated on the public page; one text per page
- Eligible
- Open internationally to authors writing primarily in Portuguese or English
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Flash nonfiction, micros and short-shorts
- Pay
- Unpaid — the journal states it cannot yet pay writers
- Words
- Flash nonfiction to 1,000 words; micros to 400; short-shorts to 100
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, micro-fiction, essays and stories
- Pay
- Modest honorarium from the contributor fund; amount varies by semester, no figure stated
- Words
- Up to 6 poems or micro-fictions, or one essay or story
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Personal essays, articles, fiction and poetry on spiritual practice
- Pay
- Unpaid — the magazine states it is not yet a paying publication
- Words
- Personal essays, articles and fiction up to 2,500 words; one to five poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, essays and poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submit page
- Words
- Prose: maximum of 2 pieces, under 2,500 words each
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Stories, essays, poetry and translation
- Pay
- Pays, but no rate is stated; PayPal or Venmo only
- Words
- Stories of 1,500 words or fewer in groups of up to three; essays of 500 words or fewer in groups of up to three
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essays, fiction, poetry and book reviews
- Pay
- Unpaid — but no reading fees or publication fees either
- Words
- Essays 4,000–10,000 words; book reviews 1,200–1,600 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose, art and literary criticism
- Pay
- Unpaid — the review states it cannot offer payment
- Words
- 5 poems, or 1 prose piece under 4,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, essays, flash fiction and video
- Pay
- Unpaid and fee-free; the contest prize is $500
- Words
- No word or line limit stated on the guidelines page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, stories and essays
- Pay
- Two copies of the printed magazine, to US authors
- Words
- Stories and essays approx 3,000 words; 6–12 poems; online essays any length
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- £200 print / £150 Substack≈ $203–$270 USD
- Words
- 800–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: a Scottish magazine with an international outlook
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry/interviews
- Words
- Not a single sitewide limit on the About page. El Alboroto (Spanish section) states a 2,500-word maximum — that is a different card.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Nonfiction pitches and poetry
- Pay
- $200 per poem
- Words
- Poems max 2 pages · digital pieces unlikely over 2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Themed fiction or non-fiction
- Pay
- AUD$0.75/word print · AUD$200 poetry · AUD$500 online≈ $144–$360 USD
- Words
- No longer than 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official writers’ guidelines: most contributors are from Australia, some from overseas
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations
- Pay
- $150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
- Words
- 700–2,500 words depending on section
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal narrative essay
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- 2,000–6,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction, poetry, essays and reviews
- Pay
- Flat £50 per piece≈ $68 USD
- Words
- Prose to 2,500 words; up to 3 poems totalling 100 lines
- Eligible
- Official: during their two annual windows they accept poetry, fiction and essays from writers in Scotland and beyond
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Literary non-fiction - essays, reviews, interviews and memoir
- Pay
- $65-720 depending on the length of accepted work
- Words
- No formal word limit; the magazine tends toward 1,000-5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and essays
- Pay
- Print: $75 per poem, $175 per essay or story. Online only: $50 per poem, $150 per essay or story
- Words
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, essays and poetry
- Pay
- $50 per acceptance - one piece of prose or one to three poems
- Words
- Stories and essays up to 5,000 words, with 1,000-3,000 words published more often; poetry: three to five poems per submission
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, criticism, excerpts, audio, mixed media and art
- Pay
- $50 upon publication
- Words
- Up to 10 pages of poetry, up to 15 pages of prose, up to 10 images or visual artworks, and up to five minutes of audio or video.
- Eligible
- No country restriction is stated; the magazine encourages artists from all experience levels and communities
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Flash creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $45 honorarium if featured
- Words
- 750 words or fewer
- Eligible
- Official: they have published writers from India, Egypt, the Netherlands, Ireland, Spain, Malaysia, Qatar and Japan, and many previously unpublished authors
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry, essays
- Pay
- $0.08/word fiction, $40 poem, $75 essay
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Essay / nonfiction
- Pay
- ₦50,000≈ $38 USD
- Words
- 750–3,500 words
- Eligible
- The official essays section does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Humour / satire
- Pay
- $25–$100 on publication
- Words
- No more than 8 pages
- Eligible
- No country list on the official guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Speculative fiction, essays, reviews
- Pay
- $20 per published story
- Words
- Short fiction up to 5,000; flash up to 1,000; essays/CNF up to 3,000; reviews 800–2,000
- Eligible
- Artists and writers from Africa and the African diaspora
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Genreless literary work
- Pay
- $20 per author on publication
- Words
- No length limit stated on the submission guidelines
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, reviews and visual art
- Pay
- $20 per poem in print, $30-$50 per prose piece in print by length, $150 for an eight-page art spread, $50 online, $30 on Substack
- Words
- Nonfiction under 4,000 words; fiction shorts and excerpts under 5,000 words; flash under 1,000 words; reviews 1,500-3,000 words; poetry up to three poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🔵 SubmittedSouth Africa
Poetry, short story, essay
- Pay
- ₦20,000 or ₦30,000 (Nigerian bank account)≈ $15–$23 USD
- Words
- Prose 1,200–5,000 words; poetry 2–5 poems / 10 pages
- Eligible
- Writers of African origin based anywhere in the world, or anyone writing about Africa
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essay
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the current official page
- Words
- Not publicly stated on the current official page
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Personal essay (First Person)
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the current official pitch page
- Words
- Not stated for First Person on the current official pitch page
- Eligible
- Not applicable until First Person is listed again on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Longform essay
- Pay
- Freelance fee or honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Generally 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- When open: academics and people with significant professional or practical expertise
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.08/word prose, $0.16/word poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, essays
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction and non-fiction
- Pay
- Pays contributors — rate not stated
- Words
- No set maximum or minimum; most submissions run 3,000–6,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: committed to offering a home to writing by those who are marginalised or underrepresented — writers of colour, working class or low-income writers, queer, transgender, non-binary and gender-nonconforming writers, and writers with disabilities
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Creative non-fiction
- Pay
- Pays for all published work — rate not stated
- Words
- 500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they publish the best in creative non-fiction from around the globe
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and graphic narratives
- Pay
- Pays contributor fees — schedule not on the public page
- Words
- Online nonfiction ~1,500 words; print nonfiction rarely over 4,000
- Eligible
- Official and restrictive: "Island welcomes submissions from Australia, New Zealand and Australians living abroad
- Verified
- 2026-09