🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & tech
- Pay
- $2,500+ per feature
- Words
- ~5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong reporting required
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
World journalism, essays
- Pay
- $600–$800
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction — it publishes writers from around the globe, with Africa-focused editorial
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, long read or photo essay
- Pay
- £375–£675 per commission≈ $507–$913 USD
- Words
- 1,500–2,500+ words depending on format
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Longform nonfiction
- Pay
- $500 (personal/critical essays); reading lists $350
- Words
- Most features 2,000-6,000 words (guideline, not a rule)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Travel feature, service, first person
- Pay
- From $300 for 500–600 words
- Words
- Rate example: 500–600 words. Other lengths exist; no single required range.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, article or interview
- Pay
- £150 per 3,000 words≈ $203 USD
- Words
- 2,000–3,000 words as a rule
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyGermany
Design & dev articles
- Pay
- ~$200–$250
- Words
- ~1,500+ words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong technical knowledge and writing ability are expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food & home
- Pay
- ~$150 per assignment
- Words
- ~600–1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
10-item fact list
- Pay
- $100 (minus PayPal fees)
- Words
- 1,500–2,000 words including the introduction; exactly 10 items
- Eligible
- Official submit page: only considering submissions from the US, UK, NZ, Ireland, Canada, Australia and South Africa, unless you are an existing published Listverse writer
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟢 Accepted, scheduledOpen to all
Stories, essays, thinkpieces, rants
- Pay
- $75
- Words
- 600–800 words
- Eligible
- Black Africans and Black African diasporas
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays, opinion and travel writing, plus art
- Pay
- $30 per published piece; $75 for cover art
- Words
- Poetry, fiction and all prose forms up to 1,500 words; up to three pieces per submission; one to two pieces for nonfiction and essays
- Eligible
- Official page: "We welcome submissions from students ages 13-22
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, author interviews, features and essays
- Pay
- $25 for reviews and interviews, $75 for features
- Words
- Reviews run about 600-800 words; length for features and essays is settled at commissioning
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Humour articles and lists
- Pay
- $35 per accepted article; $10 per accepted list
- Words
- Articles 600–1,000 words preferred; lists 200–600 words preferred
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedOpen to all
Top-10 lists
- Pay
- $5 per article
- Words
- Minimum 1,500 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Long-form, folktales, essays, interviews, heritage reviews, listicles, encounters
- Pay
- ₦10,000 per article; ₦5,000 per codex entry≈ $3.78–$11 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature
- Pay
- From 50 cents per word
- Words
- No hard limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Reported tech feature
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch 300 words or less. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
SF/F non-fiction article
- Pay
- 10¢ per word, up to 2,500 words
- Words
- Up to 2,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list on the official non-fiction guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fact article
- Pay
- 9¢ per word
- Words
- About 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: any writer, solely on merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Writing craft
- Pay
- ~$0.30–$0.50/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong craft knowledge expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & essays
- Pay
- Up to ~$1/word
- Words
- 800–1,400 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; content is aimed at a 50+ US audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Career & money
- Pay
- ~$0.40/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays & analysis
- Pay
- Pays per assignment
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Tech & world
- Pay
- $1/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Open to writers in non-Western countries; pitches from regional writers welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Reported science and environment pieces, analysis, reviews
- Pay
- Paid per piece - figure not published
- Words
- Up to 1,000 words; hard cap 1,100
- Eligible
- The guidelines state no geographic restriction on who may write for the desk
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
News, opinion, ground reports, policy and defence analysis
- Pay
- Paid for commissioned work - figure not published
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Food writing, essays, photo essays, recipes with a backstory
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The pitch page states no geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Entertainment news and features
- Pay
- Not published; described as consistent and timely payments
- Words
- Not stated on the work-with-us page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Comedy lists
- Pay
- $100–150 (first 4) → $200–250 (5th+); $100 top-10 bonus
- Words
- 6–8 entries per list
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited Kingdom
List-driven features
- Pay
- £40 per list (typical); 'certain content may attract alternative rates'≈ $54 USD
- Words
- 1,500+ words (lists)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Science fiction, fantasy and horror
- Pay
- AUD 2–6c a word; 6c a word for 2027; A$40 non-fiction≈ $29 USD
- Words
- 2,000–8,000 words
- Eligible
- Official and window-dependent: Australian writers and subscribers from anywhere may submit 1 February – 30 September
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, reviews and visual art
- Pay
- $20 per poem in print, $30-$50 per prose piece in print by length, $150 for an eight-page art spread, $50 online, $30 on Substack
- Words
- Nonfiction under 4,000 words; fiction shorts and excerpts under 5,000 words; flash under 1,000 words; reviews 1,500-3,000 words; poetry up to three poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10