BRYME
SEPTEMBER 2026 EDITIONThe business, craft & economics of writing — free, independent, human-verified.

Fiction

Publications that pay for fiction

Markets currently recorded as publishing fiction, with the pay and word count each one states.

69 publications47 accepting now26 open worldwide$1–$720 stated pay (USD equiv.)21 state no figure

Almost every fiction market wants the complete story, not a query. Read the word limits precisely: over the cap is an automatic decline at most journals.

Filter these by pay, length and status

🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Kill Your Darlings

Short fiction

Pay
Minimum $1,000≈ $720 USD
Words
2,000–5,000 words
Eligible
Official and restrictive in a way that costs money: "We only accept fiction submissions from KYD Members
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Drift

Essays, criticism, fiction, poetry

Pay
$2,000 essays; $500–$1,000 stories; $150 poems
Words
No stated hard length limit
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIreland

The Stinging Fly

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry

Pay
€45/page (min €300, max €1,200)≈ $348–$1,394 USD
Words
Page-based; flashcards 1–2 pages
Eligible
Open to writers from Ireland and abroad; no stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Rumpus

Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry

Pay
Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
Words
Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
Eligible
Spanish-language work
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Sun Magazine

Personal essays, fiction, poetry

Pay
$200+
Words
Most pieces under 7,000 words
Eligible
English-language writers from anywhere are welcome
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Torch Literary Arts

Black women writers

Pay
$150
Words
Varies
Eligible
Original creative work by Black women writers
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Overland

Short fiction

Pay
$580 print; $180 online (+ 12% super)≈ $130–$418 USD
Words
Not publicly stated. Complete stories only — no novel excerpts.
Eligible
Official: currently only accepting fiction from writers living and/or working in or around Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Chestnut Review

Literary work of all forms

Pay
$120
Words
Varies
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Forge Literary Magazine

Fiction

Pay
$100
Words
Prefer under 3,000 words; up to 5,000
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Guernica

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation

Pay
$100 honorarium
Words
Fiction 2,000–7,000 words; flash not considered
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Forge Literary Magazine

Fiction and nonfiction

Pay
$100
Words
under 3,000 words (up to 3,500)
Eligible
Open internationally to all voices and genres; literary excellence is the only criterion
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

West Branch

Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, translation

Pay
$100/poetry, $0.10/word up to $200 (prose)
Words
up to 6 poems or 30 pages of prose
Eligible
Open to submissions from any location; first North American serial rights purchased
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Asimov’s Science Fiction

Science fiction short story (some borderline fantasy/slipstream)

Pay
8–10¢ per word (8¢ after 7,500 words)
Words
Seldom under 1,000 or over 20,000; no novel serials
Eligible
Official: Asimov’s will consider material submitted by any writer, previously published or not
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Geist

Non-fiction, fiction, poetry and comics

Pay
Up to $650; $100/page poetry≈ $72–$470 USD
Words
Notes & Dispatches under 2,000 words; Features up to 5,000
Eligible
Official: their priority is work from emerging and established writers and artists who are Canadian or permanent residents of Canada, or whose work has a strong connection to Canada or would be relevant to a Canadian audience
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Malahat Review

Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction

Pay
CAD$70 per published page≈ $51 USD
Words
Paid per published page
Eligible
Open internationally
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyCanada

The Ex-Puritan

Fiction, essays, poetry

Pay
CAD$50–$150≈ $36–$108 USD
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction, but writers must be able to accept e-transfer, PayPal or Canadian cheque
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

PRISM international

Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation

Pay
$40 CAD/page prose, $45 CAD/page poetry≈ $29–$33 USD
Words
Preferred length 4,000 words or less
Eligible
Open internationally — their mandate is to publish "the best in contemporary writing and translation from Canada and around the world
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Prairie Fire

Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction

Pay
10¢ per word prose (max $250), $40 per poem≈ $29–$181 USD
Words
Maximum 5 poems per submission
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Aurealis

Science fiction, fantasy and horror

Pay
AUD 2–6c a word; 6c a word for 2027; A$40 non-fiction≈ $29 USD
Words
2,000–8,000 words
Eligible
Official and window-dependent: Australian writers and subscribers from anywhere may submit 1 February – 30 September
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Split Lip Magazine

Fiction, memoir, poetry, art

Pay
$25–$75
Words
Flash and short forms
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Cincinnati Review

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama

Pay
$25/page prose, $30/page poetry
Words
Prose up to ~20 pages
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Black Fox Literary Magazine

Fiction, CNF, poetry, art

Pay
$20 per contributor
Words
Not stated as a hard limit
Eligible
No stated country restriction on the official submit page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Haven Speculative

Speculative fiction, poetry

Pay
8¢/word fiction, $20 poetry
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Mudroom

Poetry, fiction, essays

Pay
$15
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

Pulp Literature Magazine

Short fiction, poetry, art

Pay
$0.05-$0.08/word (short stories)≈ $14–$579 USD
Words
short stories to 5,000 words
Eligible
Open to writers; pay rates published on the official guidelines page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

AGNI

Poetry and prose

Pay
$10/page prose, $20/page poetry (max $150)
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada

FreeFall Magazine

Prose, poetry, interviews and reviews

Pay
$10/page prose (max $100), $25/poem, $50 reviews≈ $7.23–$36 USD
Words
Prose to 4,000 words; poems max 6 pages each
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Space and Time

Speculative fiction, poetry

Pay
$0.01/word prose, $5 poetry
Words
Variable
Eligible
Submissions accepted in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French or Italian
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Bombay Literary Magazine

Fiction, poetry, translation

Pay
≈₹5,000 ($61)≈ $0.65 USD
Words
Variable
Eligible
Internationally recognised; open to global voices
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States

Noema Magazine

Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction

Pay
Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
Words
Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
Eligible
The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal

Himal Southasian

Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction

Pay
Set rates — amount told on commission
Words
Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
Eligible
Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Clarkesworld Magazine

Science fiction or fantasy short story

Pay
14¢ per word
Words
1,000–22,000 words, no exceptions
Eligible
Official: stories from all over the world
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all

The Markaz Review

Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview

Pay
Honorarium — amount not published
Words
Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
Eligible
Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Analog Science Fiction and Fact

Science fiction story

Pay
8–10¢ per word for short fiction
Words
Short fiction up to about 20,000 words
Eligible
Official: Analog will consider material submitted by any writer solely on the basis of merit
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Beneath Ceaseless Skies

Literary adventure fantasy short story

Pay
8¢ per word
Words
Strongly prefer under 15,000 words
Eligible
Official: submissions from all writers, of all locations, nationalities, ethnicities, backgrounds, faiths, genders, orientations, identities and experiences
Verified
2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Griffith Review

Literary essays and features

Pay
AUD $0.75/word
Words
~1,000–4,000 words
Eligible
Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Hobart

Short prose

Pay
Pays per accepted piece
Words
Short prose
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Diabolical Plots

Sci-fi, fantasy, horror

Pay
$0.10/word
Words
Up to 3,500 words
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Zyzzyva

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry

Pay
Pays contributors
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Transition Magazine

Essays, fiction, criticism

Pay
Pays contributors
Words
Variable
Eligible
Centers Africa and the African diaspora; strongly relevant to African and diaspora writers
Verified
2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

The London Magazine

Poetry, short fiction, non-fiction and reviews

Pay
Pays for print — rate not stated
Words
Poetry to 40 lines; fiction to 4,000 words; non-fiction 800–2,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

One Story

Literary short fiction

Pay
$500 plus 25 contributor copies
Words
3,000–8,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Extra Teeth

Fiction and nonfiction

Pay
£200 print / £150 Substack≈ $203–$270 USD
Words
800–4,000 words
Eligible
Official: a Scottish magazine with an international outlook
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Rumpus

Essays, fiction, poetry

Pay
$500 prose/comics; $200 poetry/interviews
Words
Not a single sitewide limit on the About page. El Alboroto (Spanish section) states a 2,500-word maximum — that is a different card.
Eligible
No country list
Verified
2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Westerly

Poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and reviews

Pay
$250–$620 depending on form≈ $180–$447 USD
Words
Fiction/CNF max 3,500 words; scholarly max 5,000; reviews ~800
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated on the submit page
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Griffith Review

Themed fiction or non-fiction

Pay
AUD$0.75/word print · AUD$200 poetry · AUD$500 online≈ $144–$360 USD
Words
No longer than 4,000 words
Eligible
Official writers’ guidelines: most contributors are from Australia, some from overseas
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all

LitMag Online

Short fiction

Pay
$100 on acceptance
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Ecotone

Fiction, non-fiction and poetry about place

Pay
Honorarium, $100 minimum
Words
Up to 30 pages
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

The New Quarterly

Fiction, poetry and non-fiction

Pay
$400 prose / $100 poetry≈ $72–$289 USD
Words
One piece per submission period
Eligible
Official and strict: The New Quarterly publishes fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction exclusively by Canadian writers
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada

Augur Magazine

Speculative fiction and poetry

Pay
CAD $0.14/word fiction, $112 flash, $100 per poem≈ $72–$81 USD
Words
Fiction to 5,000 words; up to 5 poems / 10 pages
Eligible
Open internationally
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Gutter

Fiction, poetry, essays and reviews

Pay
Flat £50 per piece≈ $68 USD
Words
Prose to 2,500 words; up to 3 poems totalling 100 lines
Eligible
Official: during their two annual windows they accept poetry, fiction and essays from writers in Scotland and beyond
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Strange Horizons

Speculative fiction

Pay
10¢ per word (minimum $60)
Words
Up to 10,000 words; under 5,000 preferred
Eligible
Official: submissions from anywhere in the world
Verified
2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Solarpunk Magazine

Speculative fiction, poetry, essays

Pay
$0.08/word fiction, $40 poem, $75 essay
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

The Fiction Desk

Short story

Pay
£25 per 1,000 words≈ $34 USD
Words
1,000–15,000 words
Eligible
Official: they are based in the UK and are happy to consider short story submissions from authors all over the world
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Shoreline of Infinity

Science fiction short story

Pay
£20 per 1,000 words≈ $27 USD
Words
Maximum 6,000 words
Eligible
Official: they are particularly interested in work from authors of backgrounds underrepresented in the Western science fiction canon, and authors from outside the anglophone West
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

EVENT

Fiction, poetry and reviews

Pay
$40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)≈ $25–$29 USD
Words
Up to six poems, or one short story to 5,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated for general submissions, though some categories carry their own eligibility requirements on Submittable — the August 2026 fiction and poetry calls were flagged as Canadian
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Offing

Humour / satire

Pay
$25–$100 on publication
Words
No more than 8 pages
Eligible
No country list on the official guidelines
Verified
2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyNigeria

Omenana

Speculative fiction, essays, reviews

Pay
$20 per published story
Words
Short fiction up to 5,000; flash up to 1,000; essays/CNF up to 3,000; reviews 800–2,000
Eligible
Artists and writers from Africa and the African diaspora
Verified
2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🔵 SubmittedSouth Africa

Efiko Magazine

Poetry, short story, essay

Pay
₦20,000 or ₦30,000 (Nigerian bank account)≈ $15–$23 USD
Words
Prose 1,200–5,000 words; poetry 2–5 poems / 10 pages
Eligible
Writers of African origin based anywhere in the world, or anyone writing about Africa
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyCanada

The /tEmz/ Review

Fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry

Pay
$20 per piece≈ $14 USD
Words
Prose up to 10,000 words
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Uncanny Magazine

Speculative short fiction

Pay
10¢ per word (including audio rights)
Words
750–10,000 words
Eligible
Official: passionate, diverse SF/F from writers from every conceivable background
Verified
2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

khōréō

Speculative short fiction or flash

Pay
10¢ per word
Words
Under 5,000 words (prefer under 3,500)
Eligible
Official: submit if you identify as an immigrant or member of a diaspora in the broadest definitions — including first- and second-generation immigrants, refugees, people displaced by colonialism/imperialism, and anyone whose heritage includes ‘here and elsewhere’
Verified
2026-08
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyNamibia

Doek! Literary Magazine

Pan-African literary work

Pay
Not publicly stated
Words
Varies
Eligible
Open to Pan-African writers; confirm specific restriction on the official page
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

The Kenyon Review

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry

Pay
$0.08/word prose, $0.16/word poetry
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States

Ploughshares

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry

Pay
Pays contributors
Words
Variable
Eligible
No stated country restriction
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Granta

Fiction and non-fiction

Pay
Pays contributors — rate not stated
Words
No set maximum or minimum; most submissions run 3,000–6,000 words
Eligible
Official: committed to offering a home to writing by those who are marginalised or underrepresented — writers of colour, working class or low-income writers, queer, transgender, non-binary and gender-nonconforming writers, and writers with disabilities
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom

Mslexia

Poetry and short fiction

Pay
Pays for every piece published — rate not stated
Words
Stories to 2,200 words; poems to 40 lines
Eligible
Mslexia is a magazine for women's writing and its submission routes are for women writers
Verified
2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada

carte blanche

Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation

Pay
Modest honorarium — amount not stated
Words
See the guidelines for each genre
Eligible
No nationality restriction stated
Verified
2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia

Island

Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and graphic narratives

Pay
Pays contributor fees — schedule not on the public page
Words
Online nonfiction ~1,500 words; print nonfiction rarely over 4,000
Eligible
Official and restrictive: "Island welcomes submissions from Australia, New Zealand and Australians living abroad
Verified
2026-09

Before you pitch

Read these first.

Every listing links to the publication’s own guideline and shows the date BRYME last checked it. A listing is an invitation to pitch — never a promise of acceptance or payment.

Follow along — the BRYME weekly digest