🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, criticism, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $2,000 essays; $500–$1,000 stories; $150 poems; $25 Mentions
- Words
- Essays: 2–4 paragraph pitch; fiction: no word limit; Mentions: 150-word reviews
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIreland
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- €45/page (min €300, max €1,200)≈ $348–$1,394 USD
- Words
- Page-based; flashcards 1–2 pages
- Eligible
- Open to writers from Ireland and abroad; no stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $200+
- Words
- Most pieces under 7,000 words
- Eligible
- English-language writers from anywhere are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Black women writers
- Pay
- $150
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Original creative work by Black women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, flash fiction, short stories and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $150 per poem or flash fiction piece, $500 per short story or essay
- Words
- No unsolicited submission longer than 7,500 words; up to 1 short story or essay, 4 flash fictions or 10 poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary work of all forms
- Pay
- $120
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation
- Pay
- $100 honorarium
- Words
- Fiction 2,000–7,000 words; flash not considered
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, translation
- Pay
- $100/poetry, $0.10/word up to $200 (prose)
- Words
- up to 6 poems or 30 pages of prose
- Eligible
- Open to submissions from any location; first North American serial rights purchased
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction and poetry
- Pay
- Fiction: $150 for stories of 3,000 words or more, $100 for stories under 3,000 words
- Words
- Fiction up to 7,500 words, double spaced, 12pt Times New Roman
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction, personal essays, poetry, book reviews and cover photography
- Pay
- $300 per short story or essay, $100 per poet, $100 for cover photography
- Words
- Stories and essays of 15-25 manuscript pages, one piece at a time; poetry up to 7 poems and 20 pages, with single long poems up to 10 pages
- Eligible
- Official page: "Authors do NOT need to be residents of Colorado or the United States
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction and poetry on health, healing and the human body
- Pay
- $150 for prose; $75 for poetry
- Words
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 5,000 words (most published prose is 2,000–4,000); up to three poems of any length
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, short fiction and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $75 as an Amazon gift certificate or via PayPal, plus a copy of the annual print compilation
- Words
- Prose up to 5,000 words; no more than three poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $300 per short story, $75 per accepted poem, plus two contributor copies
- Words
- No designated page limit, though most stories published run under 25 double-spaced pages; the page asks for one submission per reading period
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Non-fiction, fiction, poetry and comics
- Pay
- Up to $650; $100/page poetry≈ $72–$470 USD
- Words
- Notes & Dispatches under 2,000 words; Features up to 5,000
- Eligible
- Official: their priority is work from emerging and established writers and artists who are Canadian or permanent residents of Canada, or whose work has a strong connection to Canada or would be relevant to a Canadian audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction
- Pay
- CAD$70 per published page≈ $51 USD
- Words
- Paid per published page
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and translation
- Pay
- $50 per page in print; $75 poetry / $100 prose online exclusives
- Words
- Up to 7,000 words; longer work cannot be read
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and first-person essays
- Pay
- $50 to one featured poem, one short story and one essay per issue
- Words
- Short stories no more than 2,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, flash and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $50 per published piece, regardless of length
- Words
- Poetry or micro essays: up to 3 pieces, micro meaning 300 words or fewer. Flash: up to 2 pieces of 500 words or fewer. Fiction or creative nonfiction: up to 7,500 words in a single document.
- Eligible
- Official page: "Anyone can submit to Booth except for Butler employees, current Butler students, or anyone with affiliations to Butler's MFA program
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, on the New Voices route
- Pay
- $50 per poem selected on the New Voices route
- Words
- No more than ten pages and no more than five poems, all in one document; a cover letter with publication history is required
- Eligible
- Official page: "Submissions are open internationally, to any poet writing primarily in English
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book reviews, interviews, cultural criticism, poetry and fiction
- Pay
- $100 per review or essay, $50 per interview, $50 per newspaper publication of a poem or short story
- Words
- Fiction in the Letras y Disparates section: 1,500-word limit. Poems in that section: up to three sent. No limit stated for reviews or essays.
- Eligible
- Official page: the review prioritises "radical writers from Texas, especially those from the central Texas area", and states no country restriction on submitting
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, flash fiction, nonfiction, poetry, stage and screen, comics, film and visual art
- Pay
- $50.00 USD for accepted work
- Words
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 5,000 words; flash up to three pieces of 1,000 words each; up to three poems; stage and screen up to 15 pages; comics up to three pages per piece; film up to 15 minutes.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- $50 per poem, up to $150
- Words
- Up to five poems totalling no more than ten pages, in one document for Featured Poetry.
- Eligible
- Submissions are open internationally to any poet writing in English; translated work is not accepted unless the submitter is also the author of the original
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £30 per poem≈ $41 USD
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- Official: for LGBTQ+ poets
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Flash fiction, nonfiction, stories, essays and poetry
- Pay
- $40 for 2 flash works, or 1 story or essay up to 8 double-spaced pages / 2,000 words
- Words
- One story or essay up to 8 double-spaced pages / 2,000 words, or two flash works; 3–5 poems each on a new page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, essays, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- $40 per poem, $200 per story or essay, $100 per book review, craft essay or interview
- Words
- Poetry: 2-6 poems per submission; prose guidelines are on the page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, essays, poetry
- Pay
- CAD$50–$150≈ $36–$108 USD
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction, but writers must be able to accept e-transfer, PayPal or Canadian cheque
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, prose and flash
- Pay
- $35 per published piece
- Words
- Poetry: up to 7 poems (3 on a free submission) of no more than 3 A4 pages each. Prose: one piece of 1,000-2,500 words. Flash: up to 5 pieces (2 free) of no more than 800 words each.
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose, flash and translation folios
- Pay
- $30 per printed page; poetry $50–$150; prose $50–$250; folios $150
- Words
- Four to six poems, one story, three flash pieces, or one essay per submission
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays, opinion and travel writing, plus art
- Pay
- $30 per published piece; $75 for cover art
- Words
- Poetry, fiction and all prose forms up to 1,500 words; up to three pieces per submission; one to two pieces for nonfiction and essays
- Eligible
- Official page: "We welcome submissions from students ages 13-22
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, memoir, poetry, comics, art, opinion and reviews
- Pay
- $30 per accepted piece
- Words
- Short stories up to 5,000 words or three micro/flash pieces; essays of 600-1,500 words or reported features up to 7,500 words; up to three poems in one document; pitches of 1,500 words or less.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation
- Pay
- $40 CAD/page prose, $45 CAD/page poetry≈ $29–$33 USD
- Words
- Preferred length 4,000 words or less
- Eligible
- Open internationally — their mandate is to publish "the best in contemporary writing and translation from Canada and around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word prose (max $250), $40 per poem≈ $29–$181 USD
- Words
- Maximum 5 poems per submission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Creative nonfiction, essays, translation
- Pay
- $25–$100 (by department & length)
- Words
- Essays to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, memoir, poetry, art
- Pay
- $25–$75
- Words
- Flash and short forms
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama
- Pay
- $25/page prose, $30/page poetry
- Words
- Prose up to ~20 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction and flash
- Pay
- Print: $100 prose, $25 per poem + 2 copies. Web: $75 prose, $25 per poem
- Words
- One story or essay up to 8,000 words; 3–5 poems; flash up to 3 pieces totalling 4,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Human rights short stories, essays, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $50 per accepted written piece; $25 per accepted artist
- Words
- Short stories and essays 2,500 words or less; maximum five poems
- Eligible
- Open to writers worldwide, with a particular interest in creative activists at risk speaking about social-justice issues in their own environments
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, essays and book reviews
- Pay
- $25 for book reviews (not guaranteed); three $2,000 annual awards
- Words
- Single-book reviews 500–900 words; essay-reviews of groups of books run longer
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and visual art
- Pay
- $25 per poem, essay, short story or artwork published
- Words
- Fiction and nonfiction no more than 6,000 words; poetry no more than three poems per packet
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation and hybrid forms
- Pay
- $25 per published flash piece or poem, $50 for prose of 1,001 words or more
- Words
- Prose: one piece of 3,000 words or fewer, though longer works of exceptional merit are considered, or three flash pieces of no more than 1,000 words each. Poetry: up to three poems, five pages total.
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated, and no sentence on the page states the review's country
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, interviews and omnibus reviews
- Pay
- $25 per printed page for regular submissions; $100 per story or essay for BLAST online exclusives
- Words
- No length restrictions stated for fiction and nonfiction, though the editors suggest reading back issues; poetry features run 6-14 pages of poems from each of three poets per issue; interviews and omnibus reviews cover 3-6 recently published books
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated, and submissions by post are accepted
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction, creative nonfiction, flash, poetry and reviews
- Pay
- $25 per final printed page, plus two free contributor copies
- Words
- Short fiction 1,001-7,500 words; creative nonfiction up to 6,500 words; flash fiction 1,000 words or fewer, up to three pieces in a three-pack; reviews 500 words preferred, up to 1,000
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and short prose
- Pay
- $25 upon publication
- Words
- Prose of no more than one page; no more than three poems at a time
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated; published by Nostalgia Press, which the page names without stating where it is based
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction and flash fiction
- Pay
- $25 per piece published
- Words
- Prose under 5,000 words; flash fiction up to three pieces of no more than 1,000 words each; up to three poems in one document.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, CNF, poetry, art
- Pay
- $20 per contributor
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the official submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry
- Pay
- 8¢/word fiction, $20 poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, translation and dramatic writing
- Pay
- $20 per page with a $50 minimum, plus 2 copies and a 1-year subscription
- Words
- Dramatic writing up to 5,000 words; one piece at a time, or up to three if each is under 1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $20 for each piece accepted into a general issue
- Words
- One piece under 4,000 words, or up to four flash pieces under 1,000 words each
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, prose, flash and visual art
- Pay
- $20 honorarium per published piece
- Words
- Prose up to 5,000 words; flash under 1,000 words, up to three pieces; poetry up to three poems. No novel excerpts unless they stand alone.
- Eligible
- Official page: honorariums to an international address are paid by wire transfer, and the page sets out no country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, essays, fiction and art for the journal; full-length manuscripts separately
- Pay
- US$20 per accepted piece in the journal
- Words
- No word or page limit stated for journal submissions; manuscript submissions are full-length works of at least 60 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction and poetry
- Pay
- $20 per poem and per page of prose, $300 maximum
- Words
- Fiction up to 5,000 words; poetry up to seven pages, no more than one poem per page.
- Eligible
- No country restriction is stated; the journal notes that writers living overseas may email if they cannot use the online submission manager
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, essays
- Pay
- $15
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Prose and poetry
- Pay
- $15 per accepted piece, prose and poetry alike
- Words
- Prose to 1,500 words; poetry to 50 lines
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and visual art
- Pay
- $15 per piece selected for print; fee refunded for digital publication
- Words
- Fiction and nonfiction 1,000–4,000 words; under 1,000 is flash; poetry max 2 poems and 5 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, flash fiction and short fiction
- Pay
- $15 per work used, plus one copy of the magazine
- Words
- Fiction up to 1,000 words, and fiction from 1,001 to 7,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Short fiction, poetry, art
- Pay
- $0.05-$0.08/word (short stories)≈ $14–$579 USD
- Words
- short stories to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- Open to writers; pay rates published on the official guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction, novellettes, nonfiction, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $23 for prose; $13 for poetry and visual art
- Words
- Short fiction and novellettes 1,001–9,000 words; nonfiction up to 3 pieces totalling 5,000 words; up to 4 poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Prose and poetry
- Pay
- $12 per piece
- Words
- Prose: up to 2 pieces at a time, 1,000 words maximum
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry and prose
- Pay
- $10/page prose, $20/page poetry (max $150)
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIndia
Speculative fiction, poetry, reviews, essays and criticism
- Pay
- $10-$50, only when Patreon funds permit
- Words
- Stories up to 8,000 words; the $10 tier is under 2,500
- Eligible
- Open to writers from around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Baseball fiction and poetry
- Pay
- $25 per story, $15 per piece, $10 per poem; $3 submission fee
- Words
- Short stories up to roughly 3,000 words; up to five poems per issue
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- $10 per poem; 1¢ per word for prose, up to $50
- Words
- One story or essay up to 7,000 words; 3–5 poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Prose $10 per printed page capped at $150; poetry $50 per poem
- Words
- One piece of fiction or nonfiction up to 5,000 words; maximum four poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submission guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, essays, poetry and visual art
- Pay
- $10 one-off per accepted contributor
- Words
- Fiction 3,000–6,000 words; essays up to 3,000 words; 1–3 poems in one document
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Flash poetry, fiction, nonfiction and hybrid pieces
- Pay
- $10 poetry; $15 fiction and nonfiction; $20 hybrid pieces
- Words
- Flash-focused — the magazine states it likes to keep it flash-y
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose and visual art
- Pay
- $10 USD plus a PDF of the journal issue
- Words
- Poetry: up to 2 poems per author per issue, grouped in a single document, any length
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Ekphrastic poetry
- Pay
- $10 per poem
- Words
- No length limit stated; up to 3 poems per submission
- Eligible
- Poets around the world are explicitly welcome: the submit page states that all styles are welcome from poets around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction, poetry and critical essays
- Pay
- $10 per poem, $25 per nonfiction essay, $25-$50 per story, plus a copy of the issue
- Words
- Fiction: 300-5,000 words. Nonfiction: critical essays of 500-800 words. Poetry: no line limit, but rare.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, including annotated draft essays
- Pay
- $10 per poem for the themed quarterly issue; $20 for a Marginalia piece
- Words
- No word or line limit stated. Each issue publishes 10-12 poems around a theme; Marginalia takes a first and final draft with annotations.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Prose, poetry, interviews and reviews
- Pay
- $10/page prose (max $100), $25/poem, $50 reviews≈ $7.23–$36 USD
- Words
- Prose to 4,000 words; poems max 6 pages each
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Speculative poetry, articles, essays and reviews
- Pay
- 7¢/word for poems ($7 minimum, $30 maximum); 5¢/word essays; $7 reviews
- Words
- Up to five poems of any length in a single email
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Speculative poetry
- Pay
- 7¢ per word rounded up to the nearest dollar; $7 minimum, $30 maximum
- Words
- No length limit stated on the submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.01/word prose, $5 poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Submissions accepted in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French or Italian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and art
- Pay
- $5 USD token payment per accepted submission
- Words
- Up to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Haiku, senryu and prose about haiku
- Pay
- $5 per printed page for prose
- Words
- No prose length limit stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, flash fiction, poetry and art
- Pay
- $5 USD token payment per accepted piece, via PayPal
- Words
- No word limit stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, short prose and visual art
- Pay
- $5 per contributor, with a stated floor of $3 depending on donations
- Words
- Prose up to 600 words, one piece per form - including 3-word stories, 100-word stories, drabbles, microfiction and flash fiction; poetry and art also accepted
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and pinhole photography
- Pay
- $5 CAD honorarium per contributor≈ $3.62 USD
- Words
- No length limit stated on the guidelines page; photography in jpeg only
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, poetry, essays, translation and graphic fiction
- Pay
- ₹10,000 (about $104)≈ $1.10 USD
- Words
- 2,000-5,000 words; or five poems
- Eligible
- Open worldwide - the page states no nationality restriction, and English-language translations from other languages are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, short fiction, non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- Pays for print — rate not stated
- Words
- Poetry to 40 lines; fiction to 4,000 words; non-fiction 800–2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- Not stated on the guidelines page; $3 submission fee applies
- Words
- Up to 8,000 words; no more than five poems at a time
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyPortugal
Poetry, short fiction, translation, photography, drawing, essay and nonfiction prose
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- No word limit stated on the public page; one text per page
- Eligible
- Open internationally to authors writing primarily in Portuguese or English
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, micro-fiction, essays and stories
- Pay
- Modest honorarium from the contributor fund; amount varies by semester, no figure stated
- Words
- Up to 6 poems or micro-fictions, or one essay or story
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- Unpaid — the magazine states it cannot pay contributors at this time
- Words
- No word limit stated on the submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- Standard submissions unpaid; $100 award to one writer and one artist per issue
- Words
- Fiction and nonfiction up to 3,000 words; up to 7 poems totalling 15 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Personal essays, articles, fiction and poetry on spiritual practice
- Pay
- Unpaid — the magazine states it is not yet a paying publication
- Words
- Personal essays, articles and fiction up to 2,500 words; one to five poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry and flash
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- 1,200–6,000 words; under 1,200 words goes to Flash Fiction
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, essays and poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submit page
- Words
- Prose: maximum of 2 pieces, under 2,500 words each
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Stories, essays, poetry and translation
- Pay
- Pays, but no rate is stated; PayPal or Venmo only
- Words
- Stories of 1,500 words or fewer in groups of up to three; essays of 500 words or fewer in groups of up to three
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essays, fiction, poetry and book reviews
- Pay
- Unpaid — but no reading fees or publication fees either
- Words
- Essays 4,000–10,000 words; book reviews 1,200–1,600 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and nonfiction
- Pay
- Unpaid — a free digital copy of the issue is offered instead
- Words
- Poetry: 1–5 poems in one attachment
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry and flash
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- 500–2,500 words preferred for online reading
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, hybrid work, translation and reviews
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page; $3 per submission
- Words
- Fiction and creative nonfiction 5,000 words (or 3 pieces of up to 1,000 words); book reviews 500–750 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and visual art
- Pay
- Payment is one contributor's copy; $3 reading fee
- Words
- No word or poem limit stated on the submissions page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public guidelines page
- Words
- One to three unpublished poems per email
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose, music and visual art
- Pay
- Unpaid — no submission fees, no ads, no paywalls
- Words
- Poetry: up to 6 poems in a single file
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Prose and poetry
- Pay
- Paid in two copies — the journal states it cannot pay money
- Words
- Prose under 7,000 words (about 24 double-spaced pages); poetry five pages or less
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, creative nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submit page
- Words
- Fiction up to 7,500 words; creative nonfiction up to 6,000 words; up to 3 poems in one document of no more than 10 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose, art and literary criticism
- Pay
- Unpaid — the review states it cannot offer payment
- Words
- 5 poems, or 1 prose piece under 4,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- Unpaid — KUDU states it is not a paying market
- Words
- 1–3 poems, 40 lines maximum per poem
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose and visual art with a musical bent
- Pay
- Unpaid — there is currently no money to pay contributors
- Words
- Up to 5 poems with a maximum of 10 pages in one document
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, flash, experimental writing, creative nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public page
- Words
- Prose 1,500 words maximum; poetry 1,000 words maximum
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry and academic work on men and masculinities
- Pay
- Not stated on the public call for submissions
- Words
- A single work of fiction or creative nonfiction, maximum 5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and short shorts
- Pay
- A small honorarium, funded by a $3 fee; no figure published
- Words
- Short shorts under 1,000 words; poetry 3–5 poems per submission
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, prose and visual art
- Pay
- Not stated on the public guidelines page
- Words
- Up to 3 poems under 40 lines each, or 1 piece of up to 1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, essays, flash fiction and video
- Pay
- Unpaid and fee-free; the contest prize is $500
- Words
- No word or line limit stated on the guidelines page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public guidelines page
- Words
- No limit stated on the public guidelines page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- Unpaid — the magazine states it is not a paying market
- Words
- No limit stated on the public guidelines page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, reviews and artwork
- Pay
- Unpaid — the journal states it cannot offer monetary payment
- Words
- Generally not over 8,000 words; reviews no more than 1,200 words
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Experimental fiction, nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submit page
- Words
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and prose
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Prose 500–2,500 words, double spaced; poetry up to 3 poems totalling 9 pages or less in 12-point font
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and prose
- Pay
- Unpaid — a non-profit labour of love with no honorarium
- Words
- Poetry: a single document of 4–8 poems, or a minimum of 200 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry and art
- Pay
- Not stated; an optional $3 tip jar supports the magazine
- Words
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, flash fiction and short fiction
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Up to six poems, or flash fiction, or short fiction up to 1,000 words
- Eligible
- Restricted to high school age writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, stories and essays
- Pay
- Two copies of the printed magazine, to US authors
- Words
- Stories and essays approx 3,000 words; 6–12 poems; online essays any length
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, creative nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Unpaid — the journal states it cannot provide payment at present
- Words
- Fiction of any genre up to 3,000 words; under 100 words likely too slight unless poetry
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and hybrid work
- Pay
- No contributor rate published; $5 reading fee applies
- Words
- No length limit stated on the guidelines page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submissions page
- Words
- Prose preferably shorter, no more than 3,000 words and much less if possible
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submit page
- Words
- Submit a file of poems; individual poems can be withdrawn via a Submittable message
- Eligible
- Open to poets everywhere
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- Not stated on the public submit page
- Words
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction
- Pay
- No contributor rate published; $3 submission fee applies
- Words
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction and poetry
- Pay
- Payment stated, amount not published
- Words
- One short story, self-contained novel excerpt or creative nonfiction piece of up to 6,000 words; up to three poems totalling no more than six pages.
- Eligible
- No country restriction is stated; the journal is named for "truth" in Swahili and describes itself as truth from the diaspora's boldest voices
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry/interviews
- Words
- Not a single sitewide limit on the About page. El Alboroto (Spanish section) states a 2,500-word maximum — that is a different card.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Nonfiction pitches and poetry
- Pay
- $200 per poem
- Words
- Poems max 2 pages · digital pieces unlikely over 2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- $250–$620 depending on form≈ $180–$447 USD
- Words
- Fiction/CNF max 3,500 words; scholarly max 5,000; reviews ~800
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, non-fiction and poetry about place
- Pay
- Honorarium, $100 minimum
- Words
- Up to 30 pages
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry and translation
- Pay
- $100 honorarium plus two copies; translators paid separately
- Words
- Up to 7,500 words of fiction or nonfiction (up to three flash pieces); 3–5 poems, one per page, max 5 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and non-fiction
- Pay
- $400 prose / $100 poetry≈ $72–$289 USD
- Words
- One piece per submission period
- Eligible
- Official and strict: The New Quarterly publishes fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction exclusively by Canadian writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada
Speculative fiction and poetry
- Pay
- CAD $0.14/word fiction, $112 flash, $100 per poem≈ $72–$81 USD
- Words
- Fiction to 5,000 words; up to 5 poems / 10 pages
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction, poetry, essays and reviews
- Pay
- Flat £50 per piece≈ $68 USD
- Words
- Prose to 2,500 words; up to 3 poems totalling 100 lines
- Eligible
- Official: during their two annual windows they accept poetry, fiction and essays from writers in Scotland and beyond
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, poetry and essays
- Pay
- Print: $75 per poem, $175 per essay or story. Online only: $50 per poem, $150 per essay or story
- Words
- No length limit stated on the public submit page
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation and artwork
- Pay
- $50 honorarium and two copies of the issue per contributor
- Words
- No word limit stated. Artwork: up to five high-resolution images in a single portfolio.
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, essays and poetry
- Pay
- $50 per acceptance - one piece of prose or one to three poems
- Words
- Stories and essays up to 5,000 words, with 1,000-3,000 words published more often; poetry: three to five poems per submission
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, criticism, excerpts, audio, mixed media and art
- Pay
- $50 upon publication
- Words
- Up to 10 pages of poetry, up to 15 pages of prose, up to 10 images or visual artworks, and up to five minutes of audio or video.
- Eligible
- No country restriction is stated; the magazine encourages artists from all experience levels and communities
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- £35 per poem≈ $47 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Open internationally — they will reply by email to work sent from abroad, though they cannot return manuscripts from outside the UK
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative poetry
- Pay
- $40 per poem
- Words
- Any length
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry, essays
- Pay
- $0.08/word fiction, $40 poem, $75 essay
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and art
- Pay
- $30 per piece of writing; $30 per art feature; cover art negotiated
- Words
- Up to 5 poems in a single document; no length limit stated
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 per poem≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 honorarium≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Official and strict: poets must be based in the UK or Ireland, and must not have published a full-length poetry collection in English or be under contract for one
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 per poem≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems per submission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and reviews
- Pay
- $40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)≈ $25–$29 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems, or one short story to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated for general submissions, though some categories carry their own eligibility requirements on Submittable — the August 2026 fiction and poetry calls were flagged as Canadian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, flash, short fiction and literary nonfiction
- Pay
- $25 per poem or flash piece; $50 per short fiction or nonfiction piece
- Words
- Fiction and literary nonfiction 1,500–5,000 words; flash up to 500 words each
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry
- Pay
- $25 per poem plus two copies of the issue
- Words
- Shorter poems that fit on a single page; up to 5 poems per submission
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry and cover art
- Pay
- $25 honorarium per published poet or artist
- Words
- Poetry: up to 3 poems in one file, 7 pages total. Cover art: up to 5 pieces
- Eligible
- Official page: poetry and art in most styles, forms or genres "from all contributors globally", with no country restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction and translation
- Pay
- $120-$250 for prose by length and $25 per poem, plus two copies of the issue
- Words
- Prose up to 30 pages; 3-5 poems per submission
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fairy-tale short stories and poetry
- Pay
- $25 USD per published poem or prose piece
- Words
- Short stories 900-2,000 words; poetry up to 500 words; one piece per submission period
- Eligible
- Official page: "We are happy to read and publish work from any country, and are open to work with a wide range of backgrounds and experiences
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, plays, screenplays, film, ballet and art
- Pay
- Flat $25 USD for each piece accepted
- Words
- Word counts are not stated on the guidelines page; genre guidelines sit inside each submission form.
- Eligible
- No country restriction is stated; the journal particularly encourages work from LGBTQIA+, women, international and BIPOC writers and artists
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Genreless literary work
- Pay
- $20 per author on publication
- Words
- No length limit stated on the submission guidelines
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction, reviews and visual art
- Pay
- $20 per poem in print, $30-$50 per prose piece in print by length, $150 for an eight-page art spread, $50 online, $30 on Substack
- Words
- Nonfiction under 4,000 words; fiction shorts and excerpts under 5,000 words; flash under 1,000 words; reviews 1,500-3,000 words; poetry up to three poems
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-10
🔴 Currently closed🔵 SubmittedSouth Africa
Poetry, short story, essay
- Pay
- ₦20,000 or ₦30,000 (Nigerian bank account)≈ $15–$23 USD
- Words
- Prose 1,200–5,000 words; poetry 2–5 poems / 10 pages
- Eligible
- Writers of African origin based anywhere in the world, or anyone writing about Africa
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry
- Pay
- $20 per piece≈ $14 USD
- Words
- Prose up to 10,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyNamibia
Pan-African literary work
- Pay
- Unpaid (token payments when funding allows)
- Words
- Fiction 1,500-4,500; nonfiction 1,500-4,500; poetry no minimum (up to 5 poems per document)
- Eligible
- Open to Pan-African writers; confirm specific restriction on the official page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.08/word prose, $0.16/word poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, essays
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry and short fiction
- Pay
- Pays for every piece published — rate not stated
- Words
- Stories to 2,200 words; poems to 40 lines
- Eligible
- Mslexia is a magazine for women's writing and its submission routes are for women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry in translation
- Pay
- Pays a fee — amount not stated
- Words
- Up to six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Official: they welcome work from any age and accept translations from any language, with a preference for contemporary work
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation
- Pay
- Modest honorarium — amount not stated
- Words
- See the guidelines for each genre
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and graphic narratives
- Pay
- Pays contributor fees — schedule not on the public page
- Words
- Online nonfiction ~1,500 words; print nonfiction rarely over 4,000
- Eligible
- Official and restrictive: "Island welcomes submissions from Australia, New Zealand and Australians living abroad
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, prose, comics, art, nonfiction and hybrid work
- Pay
- Payment stated, amount not published
- Words
- Prose up to 6,000 words, with nonfiction limited to 4,000 words; poetry, comics, art and hybrid work also read
- Eligible
- Official page: no country restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-10