🟢 Currently accepting🟢 Accepted, scheduledOpen to all
Stories, essays, thinkpieces, rants
- Pay
- $75
- Words
- 600–800 words
- Eligible
- Black Africans and Black African diasporas
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedNigeria
Personal Essay
- Pay
- ₦100,000≈ $76 USD
- Words
- 2,001–3,000 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🔵 SubmittedSouth Africa
Poetry, short story, essay
- Pay
- ₦20,000 or ₦30,000 (Nigerian bank account)≈ $15–$23 USD
- Words
- Prose 1,200–5,000 words; poetry 2–5 poems / 10 pages
- Eligible
- Writers of African origin based anywhere in the world, or anyone writing about Africa
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Long-form, folktales, essays, interviews, heritage reviews, listicles, encounters
- Pay
- ₦10,000 per article; ₦5,000 per codex entry≈ $3.78–$11 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🔵 SubmittedNigeria
Personal essay
- Pay
- $250 per published essay
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official call does not state a nationality restriction
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Again column (book reflection)
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- Up to 1,500 words
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essay
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the current official page
- Words
- Not publicly stated on the current official page
- Eligible
- The official submissions page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essay
- Pay
- $500
- Words
- No hard personal-essay limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: pitches and original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reading list
- Pay
- $350
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature
- Pay
- From 50 cents per word
- Words
- No hard limit stated. Official guideline for most published features: 2,000–6,000 words — a guideline, not a rule.
- Eligible
- Official page: original nonfiction from writers and journalists around the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Speculative fiction, essays, reviews
- Pay
- $20 per published story
- Words
- Short fiction up to 5,000; flash up to 1,000; essays/CNF up to 3,000; reviews 800–2,000
- Eligible
- Artists and writers from Africa and the African diaspora
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyNigeria
Essay / nonfiction
- Pay
- ₦50,000≈ $38 USD
- Words
- 750–3,500 words
- Eligible
- The official essays section does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
10-item fact list
- Pay
- $100 (minus PayPal fees)
- Words
- 1,500–2,000 words including the introduction; exactly 10 items
- Eligible
- Official submit page: only considering submissions from the US, UK, NZ, Ireland, Canada, Australia and South Africa, unless you are an existing published Listverse writer
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔴 RejectedUnited States
Essay, reported feature, interview, short fiction
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Official sweet spot 2,500–4,000 words; pitches must be at least 500 words
- Eligible
- The official Pitch Us page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Personal essay (First Person)
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the current official pitch page
- Words
- Not stated for First Person on the current official pitch page
- Eligible
- Not applicable until First Person is listed again on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Explainer / reported essay
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Most stories 1,500–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Climate explainer / reported story
- Pay
- Not a published fixed fee
- Words
- Assignments 800–2,500 words
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Longform essay
- Pay
- Freelance fee or honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Generally 2,500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- When open: academics and people with significant professional or practical expertise
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States
True first-person story or story-poem
- Pay
- $250 if published
- Words
- Recommended maximum 1,200 words; no official minimum. Longer pieces are rarely read.
- Eligible
- Official FAQ: they publish English-language stories from people around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyKenya
News, analysis, first person, opinion, investigations
- Pay
- 40 cents per published word
- Words
- Opinion ~800; first person 1,000–1,200; news under 1,000; news features/analysis typically 1,200–1,400; investigations 2,000+
- Eligible
- The official pitch page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
News analysis, op-ed, features, essays, investigations
- Pay
- Fees vary — not a published fixed rate
- Words
- Average about 1,000 words; longer if exceptionally well written
- Eligible
- Official: they prioritise writers of African descent based on the continent, but are open to articles from anyone who meets their editorial standards
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Reported tech feature
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch 300 words or less. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
First-person essay on change
- Pay
- Freelance fee or honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- 1,200–1,800 words (First Person). Other formats: Ideas 1,000–1,800; Guides ~2,000; In-depth Guides 3,000–4,000.
- Eligible
- When open: they want diverse voices, including lived experience of mental health or neurodiversity
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Essay or reported feature
- Pay
- From $500 (short essays); features up to $1/word≈ $362 USD
- Words
- Essays 1,000–4,000; reported features ~1,200–2,000; long-form 2,500–5,000
- Eligible
- The official page does not restrict essays and features by nationality
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Satire / humour (lists, open letters, monologues)
- Pay
- Modest fee if accepted — dollar amount not published
- Words
- Absolute maximum 1,200 words; they prefer under 1,000, shorter still better
- Eligible
- No country list on the official guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary essay, criticism, reported literary piece
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- No country list on the official pitch page
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reportage, arguments, history essays, first person, reviews
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pitch page
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. Finished length is part of the pitch, not a published limit.
- Eligible
- Official page: submissions on virtually any topic from anywhere in the world if the story is compelling, well written and accurate
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyNepal
Long-form reportage, analysis, essays, interviews, reviews, occasional fiction
- Pay
- Set rates — amount told on commission
- Words
- Rarely under 1,200; most pieces about 2,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: journalists, scholars, writers and other thinkers from all over Southasia and the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Climate news, features, investigations
- Pay
- From £0.35 a word
- Words
- Pitch under 300 words. A standard news story is described as 600 words; longer features exist. No single required range.
- Eligible
- Official: freelance journalists, experts and organisations
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction or fantasy short story
- Pay
- 14¢ per word
- Words
- 1,000–22,000 words, no exceptions
- Eligible
- Official: stories from all over the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
SF/F non-fiction article
- Pay
- 10¢ per word, up to 2,500 words
- Words
- Up to 2,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list on the official non-fiction guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative short fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word (including audio rights)
- Words
- 750–10,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: passionate, diverse SF/F from writers from every conceivable background
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative poetry
- Pay
- $40 per poem
- Words
- Any length
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Themed fiction or non-fiction
- Pay
- AUD$0.75/word print · AUD$200 poetry · AUD$500 online≈ $144–$360 USD
- Words
- No longer than 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official writers’ guidelines: most contributors are from Australia, some from overseas
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Short fiction
- Pay
- $580 print; $180 online (+ 12% super)≈ $130–$418 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated. Complete stories only — no novel excerpts.
- Eligible
- Official: currently only accepting fiction from writers living and/or working in or around Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Online analysis / polemic
- Pay
- $180 (+ 12% super, + GST if applicable)≈ $130 USD
- Words
- Pitch page: finished online articles generally 800–1,200 words
- Eligible
- The official online nonfiction page does not list countries
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported or argued piece on the Americas
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official contact page
- Words
- Not publicly stated
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Online reported analysis
- Pay
- $100–$200 honorarium if writing is your primary income
- Words
- Typically 1,200–1,500 words online; longer considered case by case
- Eligible
- Official: academics, activists, students and journalists
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported news, features, analysis, first person
- Pay
- $300 a day (usually 1–3 days)≈ $217–$651 USD
- Words
- Not publicly stated. Fee is a day rate, not a word rate.
- Eligible
- No nationality list
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Interview
- Pay
- Typically £150≈ $203 USD
- Words
- 4,000–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they do not discriminate on age, gender, nationality, race or sexuality
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Humour / satire
- Pay
- $25–$100 on publication
- Words
- No more than 8 pages
- Eligible
- No country list on the official guidelines
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry/interviews
- Words
- Not a single sitewide limit on the About page. El Alboroto (Spanish section) states a 2,500-word maximum — that is a different card.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Spanish fiction, essays, criticism, comics, interviews, poetry
- Pay
- Same as The Rumpus: $500 prose/comics; $200 poetry
- Words
- Maximum 2,500 words. Microfiction: up to three pieces of 1,000 words or fewer in one file.
- Eligible
- Spanish-language work
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Book review
- Pay
- $175
- Words
- Not publicly stated for reviews
- Eligible
- No country list on the current submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Flash creative nonfiction
- Pay
- $45 honorarium if featured
- Words
- 750 words or fewer
- Eligible
- Official: they have published writers from India, Egypt, the Netherlands, Ireland, Spain, Malaysia, Qatar and Japan, and many previously unpublished authors
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Essay, feature, fiction, poetry, review, interview
- Pay
- Honorarium — amount not published
- Words
- Submissions 750–3,000 words; features/reviews often 1,000–3,000; opinion 750–1,500
- Eligible
- Official mission: amplify voices from the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia (SWANA)
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word (minimum $60)
- Words
- Up to 10,000 words; under 5,000 preferred
- Eligible
- Official: submissions from anywhere in the world
- Verified
- 2026-08
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal narrative essay
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- 2,000–6,500 words
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported feature, essay, op-ed, review
- Pay
- Not publicly stated on the official pages checked
- Words
- Not publicly stated. They run reported features, book reviews, photo essays, op-eds and about a dozen long-form narratives a year.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Travel feature, service, first person
- Pay
- From $300 for 500–600 words
- Words
- Rate example: 500–600 words. Other lengths exist; no single required range.
- Eligible
- No country list
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction short story (some borderline fantasy/slipstream)
- Pay
- 8–10¢ per word (8¢ after 7,500 words)
- Words
- Seldom under 1,000 or over 20,000; no novel serials
- Eligible
- Official: Asimov’s will consider material submitted by any writer, previously published or not
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fiction story
- Pay
- 8–10¢ per word for short fiction
- Words
- Short fiction up to about 20,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: Analog will consider material submitted by any writer solely on the basis of merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Science fact article
- Pay
- 9¢ per word
- Words
- About 4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: any writer, solely on merit
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary adventure fantasy short story
- Pay
- 8¢ per word
- Words
- Strongly prefer under 15,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: submissions from all writers, of all locations, nationalities, ethnicities, backgrounds, faiths, genders, orientations, identities and experiences
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Speculative short fiction or flash
- Pay
- 10¢ per word
- Words
- Under 5,000 words (prefer under 3,500)
- Eligible
- Official: submit if you identify as an immigrant or member of a diaspora in the broadest definitions — including first- and second-generation immigrants, refugees, people displaced by colonialism/imperialism, and anyone whose heritage includes ‘here and elsewhere’
- Verified
- 2026-08
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
First-person narrative nonfiction
- Pay
- $300
- Words
- 1,000–1,500 ideal; 2,200 hard cap
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Longform nonfiction
- Pay
- $500 (personal/critical essays); reading lists $350
- Words
- 2,000–6,000 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited States
Comedy lists
- Pay
- $100–150 (first 4) → $200–250 (5th+); $100 top-10 bonus
- Words
- 6–8 entries per list
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedUnited Kingdom
List-driven features
- Pay
- £40 per list (typical); 'certain content may attract alternative rates'≈ $54 USD
- Words
- 1,500+ words (lists)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🔵 SubmittedOpen to all
Top-10 lists
- Pay
- $5 per article
- Words
- 1,500+ words; 10 items
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Money and freelance articles
- Pay
- Up to $200 (some assignments $100–250)
- Words
- Varies (typically 800–2,000)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Reported analysis
- Pay
- ₦150,000 (or $100 outside Nigeria)≈ $113 USD
- Words
- 1,000–1,500 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
African creative-industry features
- Pay
- Up to $1/word
- Words
- ~1,000–2,000 (negotiated)
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Creative nonfiction, essays, translation
- Pay
- $25–$100 (by department & length)
- Words
- Essays to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Literary essays and features
- Pay
- AUD $0.75/word
- Words
- ~1,000–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Environment journalism
- Pay
- $500 (short) · $750–$1,500 (long) · $500 (interview) · $400 (review)
- Words
- Short pieces <1,000 words; reports 1,500–3,000 words
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyNamibia
Pan-African literary work
- Pay
- Not publicly stated
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Open to Pan-African writers; confirm specific restriction on the official page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Black women writers
- Pay
- $150
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Original creative work by Black women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary work of all forms
- Pay
- $120
- Words
- Varies
- Eligible
- Worldwide — no stated geographic restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Personal essays, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $200+
- Words
- Most pieces under 7,000 words
- Eligible
- English-language writers from anywhere are welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, CNF, poetry, art
- Pay
- $20 per contributor
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction on the official submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- Prefer under 3,000 words; up to 5,000
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, memoir, poetry, art
- Pay
- $25–$75
- Words
- Flash and short forms
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama
- Pay
- $25/page prose, $30/page poetry
- Words
- Prose up to ~20 pages
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translation
- Pay
- $100 honorarium
- Words
- Fiction 2,000–7,000 words; flash not considered
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyIreland
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- €45/page (min €300, max €1,200)≈ $348–$1,394 USD
- Words
- Page-based; flashcards 1–2 pages
- Eligible
- Open to writers from Ireland and abroad; no stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, criticism, fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $2,000 essays; $500–$1,000 stories; $150 poems
- Words
- No stated hard length limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
World journalism, essays
- Pay
- $600–$800
- Words
- Not stated as a hard limit
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction — it publishes writers from around the globe, with Africa-focused editorial
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyGermany
Design & dev articles
- Pay
- ~$200–$250
- Words
- ~1,500+ words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong technical knowledge and writing ability are expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Writing craft
- Pay
- ~$0.30–$0.50/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong craft knowledge expected
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food culture
- Pay
- Pays per assigned piece
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Food & home
- Pay
- ~$150 per assignment
- Words
- ~600–1,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & essays
- Pay
- Up to ~$1/word
- Words
- 800–1,400 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; content is aimed at a 50+ US audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Features & tech
- Pay
- $2,500+ per feature
- Words
- ~5,000 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction; strong reporting required
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Career & money
- Pay
- ~$0.40/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays & analysis
- Pay
- Pays per assignment
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Tech & world
- Pay
- $1/word
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Open to writers in non-Western countries; pitches from regional writers welcome
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.08/word prose, $0.16/word poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry and prose
- Pay
- $10/page prose, $20/page poetry (max $150)
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyOpen to all
Short fiction
- Pay
- $100 on acceptance
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, poetry, translation
- Pay
- ≈₹5,000 ($61)≈ $0.65 USD
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Internationally recognised; open to global voices
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Short prose
- Pay
- Pays per accepted piece
- Words
- Short prose
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry, essays
- Pay
- $0.08/word fiction, $40 poem, $75 essay
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Sci-fi, fantasy, horror
- Pay
- $0.10/word
- Words
- Up to 3,500 words
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry
- Pay
- 8¢/word fiction, $20 poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, essays
- Pay
- $15
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Speculative fiction, poetry
- Pay
- $0.01/word prose, $5 poetry
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Submissions accepted in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French or Italian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, nonfiction, poetry
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, essays
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Essays, fiction, criticism
- Pay
- Pays contributors
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- Centers Africa and the African diaspora; strongly relevant to African and diaspora writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Rolling submissions🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, essays, poetry
- Pay
- CAD$50–$150≈ $36–$108 USD
- Words
- Variable
- Eligible
- No stated country restriction, but writers must be able to accept e-transfer, PayPal or Canadian cheque
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- $100
- Words
- under 3,000 words (up to 3,500)
- Eligible
- Open internationally to all voices and genres; literary excellence is the only criterion
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, translation
- Pay
- $100/poetry, $0.10/word up to $200 (prose)
- Words
- up to 6 poems or 30 pages of prose
- Eligible
- Open to submissions from any location; first North American serial rights purchased
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Short fiction, poetry, art
- Pay
- $0.05-$0.08/word (short stories)≈ $14–$579 USD
- Words
- short stories to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- Open to writers; pay rates published on the official guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, long read or photo essay
- Pay
- £375–£675 per commission≈ $507–$913 USD
- Words
- 1,500–2,500+ words depending on format
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction and nonfiction
- Pay
- £200 print / £150 Substack≈ $203–$270 USD
- Words
- 800–4,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: a Scottish magazine with an international outlook
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Feature, article or interview
- Pay
- £150 per 3,000 words≈ $203 USD
- Words
- 2,000–3,000 words as a rule
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 per poem≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, reviews and interviews
- Pay
- £35 per poem≈ $47 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Open internationally — they will reply by email to work sent from abroad, though they cannot return manuscripts from outside the UK
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Science fiction short story
- Pay
- £20 per 1,000 words≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Maximum 6,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they are particularly interested in work from authors of backgrounds underrepresented in the Western science fiction canon, and authors from outside the anglophone West
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 honorarium≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Maximum six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Official and strict: poets must be based in the UK or Ireland, and must not have published a full-length poetry collection in English or be under contract for one
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Short story
- Pay
- £25 per 1,000 words≈ $34 USD
- Words
- 1,000–15,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they are based in the UK and are happy to consider short story submissions from authors all over the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £20 per poem≈ $27 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems per submission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction, poetry, essays and reviews
- Pay
- Flat £50 per piece≈ $68 USD
- Words
- Prose to 2,500 words; up to 3 poems totalling 100 lines
- Eligible
- Official: during their two annual windows they accept poetry, fiction and essays from writers in Scotland and beyond
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry
- Pay
- £30 per poem≈ $41 USD
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- Official: for LGBTQ+ poets
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Fiction and non-fiction
- Pay
- Pays contributors — rate not stated
- Words
- No set maximum or minimum; most submissions run 3,000–6,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: committed to offering a home to writing by those who are marginalised or underrepresented — writers of colour, working class or low-income writers, queer, transgender, non-binary and gender-nonconforming writers, and writers with disabilities
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry, short fiction, non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- Pays for print — rate not stated
- Words
- Poetry to 40 lines; fiction to 4,000 words; non-fiction 800–2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Creative non-fiction
- Pay
- Pays for all published work — rate not stated
- Words
- 500–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official: they publish the best in creative non-fiction from around the globe
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry and short fiction
- Pay
- Pays for every piece published — rate not stated
- Words
- Stories to 2,200 words; poems to 40 lines
- Eligible
- Mslexia is a magazine for women's writing and its submission routes are for women writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Information needs verification🟡 Research onlyUnited Kingdom
Poetry in translation
- Pay
- Pays a fee — amount not stated
- Words
- Up to six poems per submission
- Eligible
- Official: they welcome work from any age and accept translations from any language, with a preference for contemporary work
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada
Reported features, essays, reviews and investigations
- Pay
- $150–$350 per article≈ $108–$253 USD
- Words
- 700–2,500 words depending on section
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Opinion and reported features
- Pay
- 40¢ a word (opinion), 65¢ a word (reported)
- Words
- Assigned per commission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction
- Pay
- CAD$70 per published page≈ $51 USD
- Words
- Paid per published page
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and non-fiction
- Pay
- $400 prose / $100 poetry≈ $72–$289 USD
- Words
- One piece per submission period
- Eligible
- Official and strict: The New Quarterly publishes fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction exclusively by Canadian writers
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation
- Pay
- $40 CAD/page prose, $45 CAD/page poetry≈ $29–$33 USD
- Words
- Preferred length 4,000 words or less
- Eligible
- Open internationally — their mandate is to publish "the best in contemporary writing and translation from Canada and around the world
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and reviews
- Pay
- $40/page poetry and reviews, $35/page prose (max $500)≈ $25–$29 USD
- Words
- Up to six poems, or one short story to 5,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated for general submissions, though some categories carry their own eligibility requirements on Submittable — the August 2026 fiction and poetry calls were flagged as Canadian
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction
- Pay
- 10¢ per word prose (max $250), $40 per poem≈ $29–$181 USD
- Words
- Maximum 5 poems per submission
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyCanada
Speculative fiction and poetry
- Pay
- CAD $0.14/word fiction, $112 flash, $100 per poem≈ $72–$81 USD
- Words
- Fiction to 5,000 words; up to 5 poems / 10 pages
- Eligible
- Open internationally
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Non-fiction, fiction, poetry and comics
- Pay
- Up to $650; $100/page poetry≈ $72–$470 USD
- Words
- Notes & Dispatches under 2,000 words; Features up to 5,000
- Eligible
- Official: their priority is work from emerging and established writers and artists who are Canadian or permanent residents of Canada, or whose work has a strong connection to Canada or would be relevant to a Canadian audience
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyCanada
Prose, poetry, interviews and reviews
- Pay
- $10/page prose (max $100), $25/poem, $50 reviews≈ $7.23–$36 USD
- Words
- Prose to 4,000 words; poems max 6 pages each
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry
- Pay
- $20 per piece≈ $14 USD
- Words
- Prose up to 10,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyCanada
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry and translation
- Pay
- Modest honorarium — amount not stated
- Words
- See the guidelines for each genre
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, nonfiction and graphic narratives
- Pay
- Pays contributor fees — schedule not on the public page
- Words
- Online nonfiction ~1,500 words; print nonfiction rarely over 4,000
- Eligible
- Official and restrictive: "Island welcomes submissions from Australia, New Zealand and Australians living abroad
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and reviews
- Pay
- $250–$620 depending on form≈ $180–$447 USD
- Words
- Fiction/CNF max 3,500 words; scholarly max 5,000; reviews ~800
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submit page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Short fiction
- Pay
- Minimum $1,000≈ $720 USD
- Words
- 2,000–5,000 words
- Eligible
- Official and restrictive in a way that costs money: "We only accept fiction submissions from KYD Members
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Science fiction, fantasy and horror
- Pay
- AUD 2–6c a word; 6c a word for 2027; A$40 non-fiction≈ $29 USD
- Words
- 2,000–8,000 words
- Eligible
- Official and window-dependent: Australian writers and subscribers from anywhere may submit 1 February – 30 September
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyAustralia
Commentary essays and criticism
- Pay
- Pays for everything published — rate not stated
- Words
- Not stated
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the submissions page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟢 Currently accepting🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Reported stories, essays and reviews
- Pay
- $1/word reported · 50¢/word essays and reviews
- Words
- Short-form reported 650–2,500 · essays 600–2,500 · features 2,500–8,000
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Opens soon🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Literary short fiction
- Pay
- $500 plus 25 contributor copies
- Words
- 3,000–8,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09
🟡 Limited window🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Fiction, non-fiction and poetry about place
- Pay
- Honorarium, $100 minimum
- Words
- Up to 30 pages
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated
- Verified
- 2026-09
🔴 Currently closed🟡 Research onlyUnited States
Nonfiction pitches and poetry
- Pay
- $200 per poem
- Words
- Poems max 2 pages · digital pieces unlikely over 2,000 words
- Eligible
- No nationality restriction stated on the guidelines page
- Verified
- 2026-09